Confessions logo

My Final Vocal Story

Until Monday

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
18

The Bad Introduction

This starts because I will be off Facebook over the weekend because I will be in Scotland. My Instagram posts will filter through and I have scheduled group posts so I don't need to be here.

There is no need for you to read this as it is just things going around in my head and a test of something that I saw today, though apologies for the semi-clickbait header. But apologies if it seems messy, if you to go further in.

In the past, I have written and posted Vocal stories on my phone but it is not really practical so I will not be writing, apart from jotting ideas down in Google Docs to pick up when I get back, but I still feel on a downer.

So How Do I Deal With This?

Firstly writing this piece, let the words flow and say various things, let ideas fall out. This is mental scribbling using a computer keyboard rather than a pen and paper.

I am very wary of publishing poem after poem and l like to make sure that a poem is always followed by a prose piece, just to convince myself that I am not being lazy (although my poems are anything but lazy despite some derogatory comments about them). I sometimes try fiction but I do feel too often they are in dystopian or horror genres so I try and redirect them but usually fail, and then I myself start to feel like a failure.

I do feel that I am always in the wrong, but it's often because I have to fix things when things do go wrong, and therefore I become more associated with things that go wrong. When things are fixed and going right the only thing that you are remembered for is you were there when things were wrong.

Fixing things is good, and doing new things is good, and this is the way that I keep positive and always find a way forward, try and find something new, or try and share something with others that they will see as something new.

At my age, I have a lot of experience and had a lot of knockbacks, but I always come out fine. I am my own worst critic and I think I will always be like that but I am lucky to have a confident resilience that keeps me going.

Yes This Is A Confessional

I am getting things off my chest but I saw something unusual today on social media that gave me a little hope. I won't say what it was, but it made me feel a little more confident.

I do feel I am maybe a little obsessive, but it is that obsession that enables me to produce the things that I create, in the quantity and hopefully decent quality that I make.

I listen to a lot of music from classical to metal and most genres in between and they give me inspiration, from Beethoven to Black Sabbath. I also get incredibly inspired by chatting with people and I don't know how that happens but I take it happily.

I do get very upset when I am ignored by people I consider friends, and if you are reading this, then you know you are not one of the ones upsetting me. The thing is I only expect people to read things that interest them so I know all my creations will not suit everyone, but sometimes I do feel my name is enough to put people off, but twenty-four thousand reads would say that more than enough people like my work.

Conclusion

On Monday I will be back with something far more coherent. Enjoy life my friends. I am following the philosophy of the Wet Willie song I have included and I am going to Keep On Smilin'

SecretsFriendshipBad habits
18

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    There is never a time I don't enjoy reading what you write :) I hope you had the best weekend, and can't wait to catch up with you. These pieces are such a wonderful glimpse into your caring and creative character. Never stop :)

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend in Scotland. I kinda envy you as I would love to visit Scotland, but that is not likely to happen. I have some Scotch ancestry on my mother's side. You are much too hard on yourself, Mike. Believe all the readers who love your work. l am one of them.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really enjoy reading your thoughts, Mike! They are very relatable for most of us and hit a lot of chords for me. I enjoye everything you write. ❤️ Have some great, well-deserved time off! 😊

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Really connected with this. I highly recommend reading while listening to the song. There were a lot of relatable feelings in this for me

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I'm glad you're getting some time off. Sometimes we creative types really need it, although giving it to ourselves can be an issue. I routinely have a lot of irons in a lot of fires and still don't know where you get the time to write such wonderful pieces! I consider it double cool when you can tie music to it. 😎 I saw some of the Edinburgh photos this morning and I love the smile! Looking forward to seeing what Monday brings!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You will be miss, have fun in Scotland. You made a big difference in vocal and you influence younger folks to fight for what is right. You have more reads and subscriber than anyone on vocal. Take care , hugs. You are always in my thoughts and prayers 💗🤗

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    It’s raining in Scotland

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I have learned something in all my years Mike, you and I are about the same age. I have learned that each and every one of us is our own worst critic. Nobody is devoid of that. Now what's important is how you deal with that self critique. That is something only you can determine and ultimately live to fruition. Keep on letting those thoughts/confession come out. It's good to let things out - but of course I know you already know that.

  • Have fun in Scotland! You did get me with that title, lol!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I enjoy your articles, so your title had my attention. Enjoy your weekend. A little R and R helps us all reset.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Wicked clever title, tho- enjoy your holiday!

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Glad to know you Mike! As you know, I appreciate your kindness and am so impressed with the amount of stories you’ve done. I was in Scotland a long time ago - Edinburgh - loved it! Have a nice weekend! 😊

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    I am glad you will be back again on Monday Mike! Much much love for you! Also so sorry people leave derogatory comments on your poetry 😡 that isn't right!! Big hugs 🤗 🤗🤗

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Had me scared for minute there. I hope you have a lovely trip to Scotland and take some time to rejuvenate. Have always enjoyed your poetry, fiction and beat/music pieces. Enjoy your weekend ❤️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Well I read this, so I hope you know I care. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.