Confessions logo

Mother's Day Confessions

Open Challenge

By CamThePoetPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Mom,

Mother, by the time you receive this, Mother’s Day will have come and gone, so first I apologize for the late arrival of this gift to you but hey, you know me, I’m quite the procrastinator so let’s just blame that on my ability to wander off into my own wondrous imaginary world known as the scattered brain of Camri Steele-Stone. Plus, you yourself are quite the procrastinator so if we’re to blame anyone, technically, it should be you because I’ve done nothing but observe and adopt your behaviors while young. The subconscious is very impressionable during the adolescent stages, lol, I’m only kidding mom, I just like to burst your bubble sometimes! Besides all that, I hope all is well. How are things at the clinic? School? Valerie still talking smack? Lol, when you write back don’t hold out on any information, I wanna know it all. I kinda miss our drama filled talks, I don’t really do much gossiping these days.

The gift! If I know you like I think I do, you opened the gift first. I hope the record player matches the furniture well and when I get back in town I’d like to take you over to that record store on Main Ave not too far from my old college dorm. I’ve been there a few times before, they’re pretty cool and have a large selection so I’m sure they’ll satisfy your music taste.

Things here in St. Louis are interesting. The Gateway Arch is terrifying, it wasn’t my most pleasant experience lol. To get to the top of it, you travel through these circular, pod things with 5 seats but I swear there’s only room for three lol. The ride up is shaky and elevating at a slant felt weird too. The top of the Arch faces front and back with sectioned, tilted windows so you lean over to take a look outside. It gave me the creeps being so high up. 630 ft! Seeing the people out at the bottom look like little ants, so small in their own little world. That was quite the adventure, hopefully someday I get the opportunity to experience that with you, Dad, and Taylor. I spent the first few months fearing the thought of being in this state alone but it ’s actually teaching me some things and I’m finding there’s power in isolation. I guess you could say “ I’m finding myself ” and I had to detach to do so. That’s not to say I don’t miss you guys down there in Texas, I’ve just come to the conclusion I’m in some deep need of soul searching. I took a leap of faith and decided to find comfort in the unknown. So many new experiences, new people, and new relationships. I’ve learned that life is fascinating. I’ve come to see life in everything outside of myself and that created room for a great sense of gratitude. It truly is the greatest journey I’ve taken in my life so far, there’s so much information I’m receiving through exploring with genuine curiosity. I digress, so as you know, I’ve become rather fond of writing and I’ve been dabbling more into poetry these days so I figured what better way to top off your gift than with a poem:

The Things I’ve Never Told You

The world has lots of mothers

But me, I chose you.

If I consult the mental

I’m sure I could review,

The pleasures that you brought me

And lessons that I construe.

You told me all you knew

Now it’s time I told you

Your creation has created

A litter of mass creators.

It’s time that you knew

That through you

I’ve found love.

Through me it multiplies

And spreads without lies.

Although time flies

It’s circular and compromise

Of my time will no longer thrive.

Hanging on to the ways we differ,

In the smallest ways, have made me bitter.

So it’s time you knew

I know now you’re human too.

Sincerely,

Camri Steele-Stone

P.S. Here’s something I’ve never told you… that time the garage door was left open and Bumbee ran away… it was me that left it open. I forgot to close it that night I was smoking weed in the garage.

FamilyHumanityTeenage yearsSecrets
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.