Confessions logo

Mintaka or Bed?

What universe am I in today?

By Richard ThompsonPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
The Ram God

So this is a story about being asleep at the wheel: as in my whole community is asleep at the wheel. The whole world is for that matter. Do not know if it was the Hadron collider that did us in, or it really was the Mayan prediction, or a prophecy from some other epoch in time.

The thing is, quantum physics is real; it is not some student joking theory, philosophized in the wee hours of the morning, when the dark goes silent and the shadows skitter away to their dens, preparing to hide away another day, reserving their energy for yet another attack on my soul.

Psychomancy is the truest answer for it; the battle between light and dark for possession of one’s immortal soul…playing by rules written thousands of years before literacy, based on an ancient and vanished culture, that terra formed the mountains, built earthworks the size of ridge lines and mined the mountains of the world as the travelled along the migrations path…the one no one knows about; the one that shifts you into a different reality with every turn and move and decision you make.

I know this to be true; it is my fate, to be witness as the universes light, it’s life, it’s essence for everything; has gathered to push back the darkness as the universe counts down to that number I have learned to never mention, and should have been invented with a fraction in it at the very least…

Four years ago I was a typical middle aged man, going through a rough patch like no other, burying family, failed businesses and a really strong stretch of anti social behavior from the people I literally flares up with. They’re long gone now, the earth is a pale reminder of what my world might have been like, had it not all come crashing down…

It took some time for me to notice that I was shifting earth realities on a regular basis; as coincidences and paths crossing began to seem commonplace and not out of touch with my surroundings. At first it was fun, realizing that different laws of physics were being applied to my life; like god had intervened and taken me to some magical place where I could imagine myself free of the terrible weight that bore down on me and had since the day my father had died and left me with a shell shocked mother, too far gone in her grief to register her actions…it began a decline that, a decade later had split my heart so wide open that the triage sent to patch me up were the preeminent nurses in the universe; and they had names like scadi, freyja and the like, the women of the Norse pantheon.

One of the first things I discovered about my triage was the pleasant discover my that my dead sister was the ski lady…she was amazing in this world…that looked and behaved exactly like the world I grew up in; but different in every way, or so I thought.

See, in my world, magic does not exist, great beasts do not stalk the night, huge mountains do not turn out to be sleeping giants, and there definitely weren’t ruined civilizations here as second ago…not where I live…on a plateau on the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains, in a little red and White House that needs a paint job, has only a few bits of fence left and generally looks like it is a bee sanctuary with bright flowers, bushes of white and dandelions delivering their spring pollination, except here on the bleeding edge of reality; they are intelligent, everything is intelligent; always was…

Seeing a tiny gnome riding a raven on the top of my shed: that was more than a clue that I had shifted realities; it was also proof positive to my eyes that one of my favourite authors had also traipsed through this realm; at the time it never crossed my mind that I might be hallucinating these images…although I ended up believing the doctors and being drugged senseless for thirteen months. That was supposed to solve the issue…it did not, in fact, the situation became more and more untenable as the side effects from the mind altering drugs they were forcing into me against my will by then, began to stimulate my fear response, and the hallucinations just kept continuing…along with religious ecstasy, the hi Gina term of synchronicity, numenosity and the a causal relationship between seemingly inconsequential unrelated matters and events, actually turn out to have profound meaning…

I am writing this tonight, in earth 488, yesterday being approximately the 487th day since my oddyssey started with an auspicious sign, my total meltdown and berserk rampage where I (a pacifist) used my cudgel that hung on my wall and was a gift from a Baptist minister, to smash all the windows in two houses, without getting a scratch, but a bit of a beat down by the police when they came to subdue me…that night a little bluebird fairy kept me company in the hospital and told me everything was going to be allright…she was wrong and right..

Right in that I was back in my head for the first time since my daughter had been abducted by her mother for the third time…I recognized that as my departure point.

The bad news; the unreality of the situation that grew into the outrageously extreme belief in everything that could possibly exist in the universe did exist, right next to me, sitting on a stool and drinking from a skull full of ice. When you meet fate, you have to hope she likes you a lot…because she only gets involved in the special cases, plays no favourites and has been known to occasionally drink one or two more than fun, her eyes take on a steel grey glint, and or mind goes skittering off into the clouds of the ocean that is the atmosphere of this earth I am on.

I zigged when I should have zagged, played backwards instead of forward, but where I really noticed the gateway was when I turned my back on the raising sun of New Year’s Day 2015…since then, I have been through a full lifetime of insanity and misadventure as I struggle to come to terms with a place where I see dragons swooping in the sky, the trees walk, and I have a photograph of a yeti that is half a mountain tall.

It is the wild, the denizens of wonderland, the fey folk of legend, the Servan, the kobold, the korred, flying fairies, little ones, big ones, and every size and shape in between, like little cartoons faces, they reminded me of old cartoons at first; but they were just the beginning…

From full time dad and workaholic with a couple of businesses, to a part time disabled package delivery man, literally overnight…with 13 months of couch potato in between…surrounded by the pareidolia of my pervasive depression, misdiagnosed and treated with drugs that make me sicker and sicker…the sheer preponderance of caricatures was another indicator that I was following some script in some alternate earth…no doctors could be that obtuse as to ignore a patient for 16 years…not in my earth anyway… In my earth, disease is explained by viruses and infections and we use antibodies…not here on the bleeding edge; here illness is caused by malevolent spirits that erupt out of the centre of the earth and race about careening into humans Willy Billy, hacking their brains and taking over their bodies, crating a kind of zombie; I can tell my town has been taken over…everyone is asleep at the wheel, hypnotized by their phones into behaving in the most energetic fashion of twitching energy and fidgeting minds that refuse to see anything in front of them…in fact you cannot engage one of the locals for more than twenty seconds before they interrupt you with a negative comment dismissing whatever it is I was trying to say and derailing my thought process entirely: this is my psychiatrist falling victim to that…his ignorance is only matched by his strict adherence to process and following the letter of the law as far as gossip and innuendo are concerned, except that as my world has fallen apart around me; things have taken on a direction that I would never have thought in a million years…

In this world, where the hadron collider opened Pandora’s box and everything we had ever imagined came to life, I live precisely on the paths of the dead, on the ellipsoidal earths 0.0 where a fraction takes care of missing the unspoken part and either renews like a fractal or breaks down into and infinite cycle of fractions, best explained by Woodrow Wilson’s very passionate discourse on the future of the world after WOrld War I in the face of taking on fractional economics to cover the cost…another glitch here…in my world it was two world wars…in this one it was one; that lasted for fifty years; and made everyone a shell shocked sufferer of PTSD without there knowing it because the survivors rewrote a bunch of history to avoid teaching the truth…

My shadow is another little point in favour of this being an alternative reality, combined with my unconscious, and of course, my family dragon; because in this world of mine I have discovered that I am the grandson of Anastasia Romanov and she was rescued by my geeat grandfather who abandoned his great wealth to fade into obscurity and hide us, for three generations, except I am only hidden from the world….the same murderous bastards who killed the five children, the Czar and his wife (I cannot bring myself to speak of them informally, it is too much that I believe this fantasy in the first place; except for all the supporting evidence…the glitches and hidden registrations, the corporations partner I never knew about, the cipher in my baptismal certificate and the hounding of the fey spirits who are flaying the truth out of me step by step, forcing it into the limelight before me, and out into the real world…

My sister was murdered 8 days after my father told me, the day before my thirtieth birthday…not kindly…I was caught up in a paternity battle and was forcing my child’s mother to accept my paternity, as she had claimed another…I was adamant my child would need me, and was right…and so was dad about my DNA hitting the doctors databases…I guess my sisters hospitalization in the early eighties had also caused a problem…a year later he was dead of grief and I was patriarch and first born by default. I started seeing things shortly thereafter…

Along with the giant earthworks here at the dawn of dawn, there are giant carved statues thousands of feet tall, trees planted in the shape of a Greek hop life, and surrounding the region were many, many remnants of industrial activity that the locals blindly refuse to here, ignore the evidence of their own eyes and disbelieve their inner voice…I have given up trying…the wild is coming here, and they are not really in the best mood…the surrounding region is only pristine in the pamphlets and the brainwashed propaganda of the locals who spend their days destroying the land to its utter end..stripping it, mining it, drilling it, and pouring its glacier fed runoff down holes they fill with tnt and blast great fissures through the ground…and the ground is intelligent; the rocks, the rock trolls, dragons and giant edifices, do get excited when woken from their slumber early.

A final addition to my belief that I have been travelling to alternate earths, is that I am pretty sure in my earth, someone would have picked up on the whole mintaka thing by now: I mean precession of the stars and all that places mintaka at the head of the great pyramid, aligned at the centre of the worlds landmasses, and with coordinates that add up to the speed of light…there is an anomaly you know, between us and Mintaka, the central star of Orions three dimensional belt…it returns two different distance numbers 600 and 1200 light years…that is it; that was all that I read on the star in contemporary records; the anomaly…nothing about it being the star worshipped around the world by our ancestors…nothing about the meaning of mintaka which has an origin etymology that begs the question; why do scientists dismiss so many facts that surround their experiments: so I will conclude with this: the name means equal weight, accurate measure, accurate balance beam…it is not named for a utility for nothing…back then accurate weights and measures were fundamental, not like today…because they were how you counted out how much food you could eat and carry: they weren’t messing about with accurate measurements…and they could see the analogy. Balance beam as in two different measurements…mintaka is under the great pyramid, with coordinates the speed of light, named for accuracy of measurement…and there is an anomaly between them and us…do I have to literally beat a scientist over the head with that to get them to start calculating the speed of light, the speed of time and the distance light travels in a year…so my scientific method is based on quantum mechanics…it is the fundamental basis of science: it is not the odds of something happening, it is where and when…and when is now and where is my backyard.

PS the Vigvisir is more than a symbol. 24 runes, 3 aetts, each 15 degrees apart, and named as a guide post…I’ve run out of space or would elaborate further but astrogatoon is the term I would use to describe how I am able to create maps out of runic magical groupings…star maps: in my world we evolved from apes: here, here I am a throwback genetic mutation born a thousand years out of time, and carrying. Three patriarchs in my bloodline, which makes for a pretty crowded mind.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Richard Thompson

Lives on the bleeding edge of reality. at https://themarkettavern.ca and https://whiterabbitt.picfair.com It is also where the sun goes at the winter solstice. Hallucinating the fey; at the gates of dawn; in the Kingdom of Prester John

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.