Confessions logo

Long Distance Relationship

Dating over the phone

By KodahPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
23
https://www.pinterest.com.au/pin/623889354656242576/

"I love you."

Do you though? Do you really love me? How do I know if your being truthful? How do I know you aren't lying to me? It's not like I can just walk out of my house to come see you. That's the lore of a long distant relationship... you never know if one is being faithful or not.

The beginning of a new long distant relationship may seem to be going successful, until all the problems start to unfold. It's hard to prove your trust to someone when it's over the phone, you could easily say "I'm not cheating" but then put a knife through the phone. The truths that hide behind the screens of disbelief holds secrets that only they know. Overthinking is such a common act when it comes to dating over the phone~

"What if he's using me?"

"What if he's lying to me?"

"What if he's cheating on me?"

"What if he doesn't actually love me?"

I guess well'll never know....

The problem I find with long distant relationships is that talking to your partner can end up feeling like a chore rather than something to look forward too. I feel like not seeing your beloved me in real life creates distractions that you chase after and soon forget your loved one. Lack of planning and progression is also a clear sign that shows how things aren't pursing anymore.

Despite the difficulties, having someone you love that you feel you wouldn't of been able to meet in your own town creates a special bond firsthand. Sometimes long distant relationships form a mindset that makes you believes they are the one. They would be the first person I would call or inform if I had good or bad news, they are the person I would vent to because they were always there for me on my phone.

Sometimes I wished that I could just talk to them over the phone forever. I always felt a stronger inner connection when it came to dating someone far, far away. People who find themselves dating someone who lives miles away often have a sense of imagination and manifestation. They hold up to a particular standard where you would have to find your desired loved one outside the box. They tend to imagine and be delusional to manifest their loved one coming into their life. The power that a long distant relationship holds....

The power of lying, really makes you believe your partner. Manipulation is also a very common technique to confuse someone into believing them. He didn't always seem faithful to himself, so I oftened questioned my self-worth and what I meant to him. But most of the times I didn't want to question him, the soft tone of "I will never leave you" replays over and over. I loved him so much I didn't question his loyalty; I was stupid to think that.

Because now, now that he's gone. I don't know how to love someone anymore. I don't know how to trust someone anymore... I don't know how to be loved by someone without always questioning their trust and feeling like I mean nothing to them. Now I'm clueless of the love that has to offer for me, I always felt like he was the one. How do I receive love now? How do I even like someone anymore? Why didn't I listen to the longer consequences for the future~

SecretsHumanityFriendshipDatingBad habits
23

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kimmiekins44 months ago

    I was in a long distance relationship for almost two years on and off. At first I found it so romantic and that we were getting to know each other on a more emotional level. But as time went on the insecurities snuck in and eventually the truth came out. I related to just about everything you stated in this piece. An amazing read

  • Priya P.4 months ago

    This was interesting!

  • Billy lewis4 months ago

    I loved this! I used to be in a long distant relo, not fun!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Every word in this article felt like pages torn from my own story. The heartache of watching someone you love drift away, no matter how hard you try or how deep your trust runs, is a pain that cuts deep. Being the last one standing in a relationship feels like standing in the wreckage of a love that once soared. Thank you for sharing this story. Sending love ❤

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Relationships are like flowers, they need hands on sunshine and water to flourish. Left alone they pine away and die. People need warmth, if left cold they will seek other warmth. Open hearts invite other hearts.

  • Suba4 months ago

    every single line is thought provoking to the loyalty. excellent one. really love the way you put in exactly. I too agree to be single always the best option.

  • "I will never leave you". No matter who says that, never believe them. Because sooner or later, they would definitely leave. Everyone leaves. That's what people do. So it's best to just stay single 😊

  • Holysigh4 months ago

    congrats on top story!!

  • Jade Loson4 months ago

    Loved this piece.

  • Lunaverse4 months ago

    Aw this is sad! So sorry 😕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.