Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Lessons Learned in the Shallows

It doesn't take much water to drown ...

By KJ AartilaPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
4
Lake Huron

Lessons Learned in the Shallows

I must have been six, or maybe seven - visiting my cousins and swimming in the pool. Not that I really knew how to swim. We were playing. My cousins knew how to swim well. My two younger brothers took to it well, also. It seemed easy for them.

I was in the shallow end of the pool, when I went underwater. I don’t think I meant to. I started somersaulting underwater, panicking, I couldn’t stop. I couldn’t find the surface.

I was finally able to catch myself. I climbed out of the pool and went to tell my parents what happened. They were sitting and chatting at the table with my aunt and uncle, likely enjoying beverages as well. They didn’t see what happened. Even though tears streamed, I was laughed at and dismissed casually as I tried to explain my terrifying experience.

That was the day I learned to stifle my fears and emotions.

I have never gotten over my fear of water, I have spent plenty of time in the water throughout summers with friends. I am a weak swimmer and can’t stand being splashed.

I was forced to take swimming lessons for a week one summer the community pool. I sat on the edge of the pool and cried until the last day, when the sun came out. I decided I was willing to try then. I at least got in the water with the encouragement of the instructor.

I did not learn how to swim. I did learn that I could get into the water without drowning, and that I could be very determined.

One summer, in fifth grade, I think, I was forced to attend summer camp with a friend for a long weekend. I did not enjoy it. One of the activities was swimming in the lake. We were tested to determine in which group we would be placed. My friend was a good swimmer. I was painfully shy. She wanted to stay in the lowest group with me. The directors wouldn’t let her. They split us up for that activity. It was not enjoyable. It was scary and unfun, which did not make me feel any better about being sent to camp, where it rained and was cold the whole time and we ate poorly cooked banana pancakes prepared over the campfire.

I did learn the value of having a well-intentioned friend. I also learned that the people in charge don’t always have the best answers, nor do they listen to kids.

In my thirties, I went to the cabin on the lake with my fiancé to meet more of the family. They had a gathering every summer around the Fourth of July. His sister would be there. This was my first time meeting her as she lived in Colorado. Later, she, someone else, my fiance, and I decided to go in the water by the sauna. I was hesitant to enter the lake, but with very clear explanation that I was not a good swimmer, nor comfortable in the water, and they would not splash me. They all firmly agreed. I waded my way in. My fiancé’s sister splashed me. I doggy-paddled away. She laughed at me. I was an easy target for her passive-aggressive behavior.

Finally, I learned my lesson - people often don’t mean what they say, and they are unreliable. The only person I can rely on is myself.

All of my life, it seems I’ve been surrounded by people who are extremely comfortable with swimming and engaging in water sports. They cannot comprehend my fear. I watch them with fascination.

FriendshipHumanityFamilyCONTENT WARNINGChildhood
4

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Not being able to find the surface where you can breathe sounds terrifying. Those moments of having no idea how you will extricate yourself & survive sound like a nightmare that keeps repeating itself.

  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    I can't imagine how distressing and frustrating those experiences in the water must have been for you. Stay strong and continue to navigate life on your terms. You have the power to shape your own path and find happiness in your unique experiences and perspectives!!💕🙌

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Some people are just awful. I am sorry you had those experiences. Not funny at all. I can swim, but it took me a long time to learn. I feel sad for you because now I love the water; I feel free in the water. If you look into EFT tapping, it may help you with your fears. It would be lovely if you could enjoy the water. Thank you for writing this piece. Paul (the Husband) said you are a horsewoman. I love horses too.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Ugh! I’m sorry that you had these experiences. Bullies are the worst. Being uncomfortable in the water is something SO far from ‘okay’ to tease and joke about! :(

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.