Confessions logo

Late Bloomer

Hello there

By Tressa RosePublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
1
Late Bloomer
Photo by MIO ITO on Unsplash

When I was younger I always remember looking at mine and my friends parents who were in their mid to late 20's up to the early 30's, and always thinking "Wow, someday i'm going to be old like that.

And as quick as I could blink, here I am. Late 20's-ish to early 30's-ish...

I've never been one for the age old cliche, think you're being funny, but you're really not... kind of quotes. But as of late I have been happily over-indulging in the ever so wonderful "Well a lady never reveals her age" do not pass go card. Which as you may have by now guessed, I am pulling right now.

I remember looking at them as I got into my teenage years and wishing for the day I was that age, because they seemed to just have it all put together. I had this idea in my head that by the time you become an adult, you just know all of life's answers. Like you are part robot and have this automatic switch. Where suddenly, on your 18th birthday it flips up and DING DING DING you have life figured out. Plus I rocked at the board game LIFE, so automatically I knew I had this!

Goodbye to fighting your cozy warm bed every morning to stop seducing you back into it. No feeling lazy and wanting to skip out on work or chores to sit in your jammies and binge out your favorite tv show you've already watched 500 times. Like seriously, to this day I can still quote most Veggie Tales word for word. Silly songs with Larry? Oh, please don't get me started. Yes I said Veggie Tales, and i'm not ashamed. Me and my two sisters will still bust out the cheeseburger song randomly in public. Could be the mall, a restaurant, or the ladies room of any random location we end up at. It matters not, because we have shared hilariously, awesome memories together because of it. Guess some things never change.

I was really looking forward to the organizational and time management skills I was going to be given as well. Not to mention getting to eat as much of anything as I want, whenever I want.

Adult's always tell kids, "Do as I say, not as I do".

PUHLLLEASSSE!!! If it's such a big deal then why don't/do you guys do it?

Ah I know, cause your not wanting us to know how awesome or fun it is right? Because all adults wanna do is be the fun police and control us, I knew what you were up to...

In reality, I didn't have a clue actually. There is a quote I read not to long ago that was so true though. It said that you can have an understanding of something your being told, but you can never truly know it until you experience it for yourself. And let me tell you... I have experienced life.

I have experienced from wonderful all the way to rock bottom. Let's just say i'm a slow learner. And i'm a stubborn soul. So when it is something I think I can do my way... I end up learning the really hard way. But those moments have taught me the deepest lessons.

Looking back collectively

I have a lot to share, Proud moments, and not so great ones. But I know I am meant to share them because there are people out there that need to hear them and know they are not alone, or freaks, or losers, and definitely not better than anyone else. Sometimes we need to just know we aren't alone. So this is me stepping out into the world to say hi, and to let you know i'm not going anywhere any time soon. Cause I think we met for a reason. And you are not alone!

Look out for more soon- Confessions of a late Bloomer.

SecretsFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentChildhoodBad habits
1

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Because you're my only cheeseburger, I'll wait for you. Great song and great read ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.