Confessions logo

Just Follow The F*cking Rules!

Disrespectful People Suck

By Thoughts Of RiellePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Image Brought to you by google.

Let me just start by saying... Most people suck.

I work at one of the indoor soccer fields in my town. As per pandemic regulations, especially with our own state regulations, it is mandatory to wear a mask in the facility like anywhere else. The only times permitted to remove your mask in the facility is when you're playing, or at a table enjoying food, and/or beverage. It's not a hard rule to follow.

I have to wear one as well. However when I am sitting at the front desk, I have the option to pull my mask down just like anyone sitting at any of the tables. I DO pull my mask up when I have guests enter the facility, and/or come up to the front desk. I also have plenty of time to do so, as the desk is placed appropriately to the surrounding area.

Now on to my frustration that I am sure a lot of you can relate to. My job in part, is to enforce that everyone be wearing a mask upon entering the facility, as well as when they walk around the facility. It's not as easy as reminding them, as some of them give me lip, and/or attitude like this isn't happening everywhere, and I made the rule. Our governor mandated this state back to wearing masks. Not myself, working part time at an indoor soccer field making minimum wage. I mean come on. I am not one to be given shit for something out of my control, and I will professionally put you in your place about it.

I can't stress enough how they are REGULAR players, and KNOW the regulations for this facility. This is NOT new information. As I am typing this, a man just walked in pretending to be looking for a mask while continuing to walk. He is not a sly person, and it was blatantly obvious he was not planning on putting one on. My suspicions confirmed when I "reminded" him he needed to be wearing a mask, and then ASKED ME FOR ONE!!! Like is he serious right now?

Anywhoodle, the person who really got me peeved was the person who inspired this article.

He entered with his buddies without a mask. I asked if he had one, and he said "No, but I am just heading down to the field", as he proceeds to continue to walk while holding his shirt to his face. I told him that it didn't matter, and that he needed to be wearing one while moving about the facility aside from the permitted circumstances. He, and his buddies then proceeded to talk shit, and patronize me amongst themselves about wearing a mask just going down the stairs. Like bro. I do not care if you're just coming in to ask a question. You wear a flipping mask.

If a child can run around the ENTIRE time wearing one without a fuss, then he can walk the lesser part of a minute down to his teams designated field for the night with one on. It really isn't a big deal, and I'm not the one you should be directing your grievances to. Follow the rules or don't come, and play until the mandate is lifted if it's that much of an inconvenience.

I was just now walking back from the bathroom, and a man ran down the stairs without a mask then ignored my telling him he needed one.

I'll say it again.... People fucking suck. I just don't understand why you can't just follow the rules that we ALL have to abide by, then treat those just doing their jobs like shit. Like we are the ones inconveniencing them. We have rules in place to stay open so they can continue to play, and their entitled asses are going to ruin it for everyone. Whether it's being removed from the team for continuing to fail at complying to the state mandate, or if it were myself reffing, I would make BOTH teams wear masks while they play. Since apparently they want to act like children about the whole thing, I'll give them a team building punishment fit for children. Also to further ground in that I am not playing around, and I will enforce the regulations. It is my job.

I honestly don't understand how this is a fight every single time. I have a child on the way. I don't need to be dealing with adults acting like entitled children over a piece of cloth. Especially when ACTUAL children are following the rules, and behaving better than them. I have the most polite kids come up to me, wearing their masks, and treating everyone with respect. Yet I get attitude from the Man Children of the community.

I wonder if I can talk to my superiors of a more tactful way to enforce this regulation. Whether it be disinviting them from the facility until they grow up, and suck it up; my idea of having them play with the masks on to show them we aren't kidding about this regulation, as we have older folks in the facility all time. Not to mention the invisible medical conditions possibly being exposed.

I'm not going to lie that I am skeptical about how effective the masks really are, but I respect the businesses just trying to get by during this time. It's hard on everyone, and frankly annoying that people will go out of their way to make things that much more difficult for no reason. An indoor soccer field is not the place to protest. We don't care how you feel about it. We care about the facility, our jobs, and the well being of the people in it. Even the assholes.

Oh Joy... More people entering without masks acting flabbergasted, like this isn't a state/nationwide mandate. This isn't new anywhere. Come on guys. At least they said "thank you". They were the polite of the bunch which I appreciate. Makes me less annoyed at the whole ordeal. Only a little though, as one polite person doesn't really dilute the annoyance I feel constantly having to enforce a rule that has been part of our lives for a couple years now. Doesn't matter that we had a small break from it, as it was not significant enough to remove the mask from the car, and go about like it never happened.

JUST FOLLOW THE FUCKING RULES!!! hahahahahahahaha

I think I am going to stop my rant right here, as I can go on for days about the weeks of this repetitiveness. Basically since I started a couple months ago. I may be small, but I have a voice, a bigger attitude, and malicious professionalism.

I. Will. Not. Be. Bullied. About. Doing. My. Job.

Thank you for reading!

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Thoughts Of Rielle

Hey! Rielle Here! I started this profile to see if I'm as good at writing, as I think I am. I hope what I have to say interests many of you, and you enjoy what you read. I hope I can shed perspective on many topics, as many cloud my brain!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.