Confessions logo

Intercession

One mind - one purpose - same suffering

By Rowan Finley Published 4 months ago 3 min read
1

When I was younger, and even now, from time to time, I get frustrated with God. I question God in my heart. “Why do you put such heavy burdens in my heart for people? I see their suffering a mile away.” Walking miles in the shoes of other people leaves me feeling so worn down and exhausted. The sadness, the pain, the need for healing, and the desire to see people free from addiction… It all adds up and it feels overwhelming to my heart. Empathy is a gift and huge responsibility from what I am learning. Empathy is used by God to bring people to action. I’m called to act and follow the compassion or burdens that are God-given. It’s beautiful and exciting. Sometimes it feels very urgent, in how I should respond quickly to the brokenness of others before me. Here are some questions I ask myself: Is time running out for people? Is time running out for me to respond? What limits do I have? How can I rely on your power more, God?

The love and affection you pour out of me is beautiful, God, but overwhelming. My prayer continues to be – “not my will, oh Lord, but yours be done.” Time and time again I hear your kind reply, God, “I have a purpose and plan to accomplish through you, my son.”

Over the last few weeks, the Lord has given me visions of intensive intercessory prayer opportunities. Whether people have been attending church all their lives or they just started coming, I figure everyone needs prayer for something if they are honest with themselves. In these intensive prayer sessions I’m deeply moved by visions for them and they are encouraged by the Holy Spirit’s presence and wisdom. Sometimes I see three of us in the prayer room surrounding another person who is struggling, suffering, and needing burdens removed. Layer by layer, like an onion, masks are being removed. Demons are fleeing in Jesus’ name. Healing is breaking through like never before for people. Promises from God are being remembered. Chains are breaking. When I say chains, I mean strongholds that keep people bound so to speak. Deep emotional, mental, and spiritual healing is all occurring. Lies are being demolished that took root from childhood. It continues to shock me how lies take root and how detrimental they are to people who are far into their adulthood. The word of God is pouring down from heaven into this war room! Just as Jesus intercedes (prays) for his children, so do I see us interceding for one another, as brothers and sisters. As sincere believers in a risen Savior, we are the building blocks of the kingdom. We are like blocks that are fitted on top of one another, making a beautiful kingdom, or castle that is constantly growing in size. As His children, we rest upon the chief cornerstone!

In the New King James Version of the Bible in Philippians 1:3-11 it says,

“3 I thank my God upon every remembrance of you, 4 always in every prayer of mine making request for you all with joy, 5 for your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now, 6 being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ; 7 just as it is right for me to think this of you all, because I have you in my heart, inasmuch as both in my chains and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel, you all are partakers with me of grace. 8 For God is my witness, how greatly I long for you all with the affection of Jesus Christ. 9 And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment, 10 that you may approve the things that are excellent, that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ, 11 being filled with the fruits of righteousness which are by Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.”

TabooStream of ConsciousnessHumanityFriendshipCONTENT WARNINGChildhood
1

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Walters4 months ago

    Compassion is a gift given to us, but not everyone uses it to fulfill its purpose for others. It can be difficult to keep the burdens of others from impacting you negatively, and that s is where boundaries become lifeboats- floating nearby and ready to engage. Your writing is thought ful and thought-provoking. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.