Confessions logo

I’m Going To Be Starting The #SpecialNeedsLivesMatter Movement, Because I Believe The World Still Has Work To Do In This Area

Please help me break the stigma and read this article I’m going to writing about ableism and how we can stop it and treat it just like racism and other “isms”!

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
7
I’m Going To Be Starting The #SpecialNeedsLivesMatter Movement, Because I Believe The World Still Has Work To Do In This Area
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

As I've stated in previous stories, articles and poems, I've been living with special needs since I was 2 years old. It's been quite a long haul for me to get to where I currently am at this point in my life. Without all the necessary support and care I've received from educators, my family, my friends, mental health professionals, support workers and doctors, my life would be in disarray by now! I'm glad that's not the case, because I've gotten and currently receive the assistance, care and encouragement to ensure I'm living healthily, safely and purposefully in my community.

I'm thrilled with all the progress that society has made to design inclusive, safe, healthy, and accessible communities for people with disabilities to participate in, but there's still some work to do. People with disabilities are still the victims of bullying, abuse, harassment, and become unemployed due to stigma in the workplace.

This absolutely need to come to an end!

To fully grasp what we need to do to improve our world for people with disabilities, I'd like to share something critical with you!

By Reneé Thompson on Unsplash

The definition of ableism

Aaccording to Access Living, ableism refers to the discrimination of and social prejudice against individuals with disabilities, based on the belief that typical abilities are worthier. Ableism is embedded in the assumption of that people with disabilities need "to be fixed" and defines people by their disability. Like racism and sexism, ableism categorizes entire groups of people are "less worthy", and it includes dangerous stereotypes, misunderstandings, and generalizations of people with exceptionalities.

Ableism can be displayed in various ways, but here are a few ways of showing ableism:

- Separating students with special needs into different schools

- Facilities without Braille on signs, elevator buttons, etc.

- The use of restraint or division as a way to manipulate students with special needs

- Mocking people with special needs

- Being reluctant to give people with special needs appropriate accommodations to ensure success in the community, at school, and at work

- Questioning someone about the severity of their disability

- Infantilizing a person with special needs

By Pavol Štugel on Unsplash

How can we prevent ableism?! Here are some ways we can prevent ableism!

- Validate the other persons feelings

- Educate your children and family members about ableism

- DO NOT touch someone with a disability or their mobile equipment without their permission

- DO NOT accuse people of lying about their disability

- Listen to others when they are requesting reasonable accommodations

- Keep intrusive questions to yourself

- Consider accessibility needs when planning an event, meeting, party, etc.

- Let the person speak for him/herself unless she/he asks you to speak on his/her behalf

- Encourage others to pursue their interests, despite his/her cognitive and mental abilities

By Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

What was the driving force for this Vocal story and this movement I want to start?!

During the COVID-19 pandemic, I had a heap of time to reflect on not just my personal life, but also what the world has become. More than ever before, people are becoming meaner, less accepting, reckless, and self-entitled. Maybe too much exposure to social media and propaganda has induced such harm to our communities?! Maybe people are being brainwashed and naïve?! I presume this may be the case.

Although ableism has unfortunately been around for years, there's still ableism going around and IT NEEDS TO STOP! If we don't stop ableism and don't consider it a deplorable thing, people with disabilities will face more stigma and our precious communities will be contaminated with such hatred.

A week ago, I asked myself a question that no one has asked themselves before: Why do we take so much time out of our busy lives to educate people about the essence of racism, sexism, ageism, and anti-Semitism and how detrimental these "isms" are to society, but not ableism?! This was a headscratcher for me, since many people have asked me what ableism is. If they know what racism, sexism, ageism or anti-Semitism is, why can't they know what ableism means? It angered me very much, because it made myself and others with special needs believe that we don't amount to anything, but that the elderly, people of racialized and LGBTQ communities are worth being considered.

This is why I want to begin the #specialneedslivesmatter movement! I want to put an end to ableism and treat it just like racism, sexism, ageism, and anti-Semitism, because it's just as despicable as racism, sexism, ageism, and anti-Semitism.

I'd like to share a poem I wrote about the concept of ableism. Hopefully, this will give you further insight on it.

By Will Porada on Unsplash

The Ableism Card

Ableism is

an abomination to society.

It contaminates our communities

with such hatred towards our special people.

The ableism card

should never be passed around

to one another.

It should be seen

as another one of those

"ism" cards to remain concealed.

Ableism is

an iniquitous act.

It's like shooting bullets

towards a special needs persons head.

The ableism card

should remain unseen

and be disposed in the trash can.

It's like having a free pass

to bully people with disabilities

and get away with it.

By Klim Musalimov on Unsplash

What else can we do to celebrate people with disabilities?

Just like national holidays like Black History Month, and International Women's Day, holidays like Disability Pride Month, Autism Acceptance Month and Mental Health Awareness Month should be celebrated in workplaces, schools, public libraries and other community settings. Thankfully, it's being recognized on social media.

I believe it'd be nice for the community to not only learn about the effects of ableism and the benefits of inclusion to our communities, but to celebrate all the people with special needs who've made positive contributions throughout history. Influential people with disabilities such as Temple Grandin, Helen Keller, Stephen Hawking, and Frida Kahlo have made amazing contributions to our society. If they weren't around, I believe that the world would be boring and less equipped. Our world is more fascinating and colourful, because these people made our world better by proving us wrong!

Helen Keller. Photo retrieved from www.history.com via Google Images.

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my stories. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment and send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

I also encourage you to support me by sharing, copying and pasting the #specialneedslivesmatter hashtag. Let's break the stigma together!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

Photo retrieved from www.cleanlink.com via Google Images.

Please take some time to read about some of the most influential people with disability by clicking on the link below!

Humanity
7

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    Very inspiring!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Superbly written and wholeheartedly agree with your words. Having felt the pain of sexism and ageism and having a disability, I was grateful and thankful for what I had knowing others had it worse, but I did have to weather the storms of ableism. Whether it made me stronger isn't the point, it should haver have existed. If continued, ableism does damage lives in so many ways. Discriminating in any form should not be condoned. Causing division isn't the answer, in my opinion, Inclusiveness Matters and is what the world needs now!. Love & inclusiveness!

  • Excellent points and totally agree with all you say

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.