Confessions logo

I love you, But I Hate you

Poem

By Jen MoutinhoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
I love you, But I Hate you
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

It’s a rare occasion that you find someone you can tell everything to. It’s a rare occasion that you get each other. This poem is for you, my friend.

I love you but I hate you,

I know it makes no sense

Or no difference to you.

You may not even care, or even give this a stare.

Sometimes I feel like I am invisible to you. Sometimes I feel that I don’t matter. Sometimes I feel like my heart is too big.

Sometimes I don’t feel appreciated, but I will continue to do what feels right to me and my heart.

I love that you’re strong,

I love that you’re my biggest cheerleader.

I love that you always know what to say.

I hate that you’re stronger than I am,

I hate that I can’t be as strong as you,

I hate that sometimes I don’t know what to say

I hate that you have your shit together and I don’t.

I hate that you’re not broken

I hate that you always get to go to the beach.

I hate that sometimes you just don’t want to listen.

I love that we can have space,

I love you for who you are.

I love the way that you can burp twice as long and louder than me.

I love that you’re always there,

I love that you’re like family

I love that your home is my safe place.

I love that I can tell you anything without judging me.

What can I say, you are my hero.

I hate that you’re so far away,

I hate that sometimes I don’t even think you like me.

I hate that sometimes you don’t answer your phone when I need you the most.

I love that you’re beautiful inside and out.

I love that you always know when to make jokes.

I love that you say you’re always here for me.

I love how we talk sometimes like we are In middle school over relationships.

I hate that I sometimes I can’t ever make you feel better.

I hate that I forget how lucky I am to know you.

I hate that we overthink everything.

I hate that we deal with anxiety.

I hate that our life feels like a struggle some days.

I love that we always get each other,

I love that we know when one of us isn’t okay:

I love you but I hate you, but you always love those that mean the most to you.

Always remember you’re worthy, you’re enough, you’re not perfect but you’re strong and always remember you’re enough. & there is always someone looking up to you ❤️

You’re more of a sister to me than anyone else. You were there when everyone walked out. Sometimes I have doubts sometimes I don’t think I’m good enough for you.

I hate that I am overthinking; I hate that some days I feel abandoned. But all in all; I love you but I hate you. You’re my person,

My friend,

My everything in between, my hero; no one has ever impacted my life as much as you have.

If the dictionary would define hero in my own words, it would be you. You’re my Superman; spider man; you’re the one I go to when things are messy. You’re the one I even tell when things start getting salty and spicy.

I love you to the moon and back, my sister; my friend. Even if we never speak again, you will always be my hero and together forever my friend.

Through the darkest days, to the sunniest says, I will always appreciate you and never take you for granted. I love you forever my friend.

HumanityFamilySecretsFriendshipDating
2

About the Creator

Jen Moutinho

Single Mom. Recently divorced. Just trying to survive every day life. Struggles with Mental Illness and trying to navigate life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.