Confessions logo

Dear Janelle:

Chapter 1.

By Jen MoutinhoPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Dear Janelle:
Photo by Piotr Łaskawski on Unsplash

Dear Janelle,

I'm beginning to wonder about life, and everything. Like what is the purpose of it? Why do I constantly feel like I'm battling my brain every single day. Why am I overthinking? I don't even know anymore. I'm having a hard time falling in love. After being in a relationship for over 10 years, and married for 3 years of it, I feel like I lost hope in feeling love again. My heart was torn, and broken over and over again. The constant emotional and mental abuse with his temper which he still denies til this day. I might be afraid of falling for someone again, or maybe I'm just not ready to be in love. I constantly feel emotional, and upset. I feel like I shouldn't ever get attached. You were the only one that stayed when things got bad, and didn't run away. I appreciate that. But i'm constantly questioning everything that happens in life. This probably makes absolutely no sense what so ever, I'm just trying to get my feelings down onto paper and maybe I can figure out what I am actually thinking. Sometimes I question myself, and wonder if I'm good enough to be your friend. Sometimes I question myself and wonder if I am just a selfish person. I'm tired of constantly being told that I will never amount to anything, and that my "Mental Illness" will forever prevent me from being a normal person. What is a normal person? I didn't ask for a mental illness, I didn't ask for depression, I didn't ask for Body Image problems, and everything in between. What I am asking for is a proper diagnosis, not just what family just say what I have and assume thats that. I feel like I am trapped in this life, and have to let others control my feelings, and control the way I react. Why Am I so scared to tell someone when I am really upset with them? Why can't I just not feel at all?

I guess I'm just trying to figure out life, and writing these cronicals to you. I don't know why I am because you probably don't care, and think I really Am this crazy person. Why am I so afraid to let the world know that I am indeed bisexual? Why can't I just, I don't even know. I still wonder every day why I find comfort in pain? Is it just because I am so used to it? Or it's the way to feel what I am supposed to feel? I'm tired of feeling like I need to be molded into someones persona of what they want. Why am I a people pleaser? Why do I constantly self sabatoge?

Maybe I'm just crazy, and chaotic, and don't deserve anything in life. I do a lot for other people, and give and give; and I've kind of come to realize it feels a void of someone taking care of me. I never was really taken care of, I grew up with a controlling narcasstic mother. I pray every day that I don't end up just like my mom with my kids. I just try my best every day not to be the mold of what I grew up in.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Jen Moutinho

Single Mom. Recently divorced. Just trying to survive every day life. Struggles with Mental Illness and trying to navigate life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.