Confessions logo

I Am The Laziest Vocal Creator

I Really Am

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
13
An Ai Image By The Author

Introduction

Every piece I write that is less than six hundred words makes me feel that I am the laziest of all Vocal Creators. The music is "Lazyitis" by The Happy Mondays. Appropriate? I think so.

Why?

I have just written two abecedarian poems for the Vocal Challenge and I have ideas for another two.

I also dropped two old ones into the challenge as well which will get me shot by certain creators, how dare I recycle my work for a Vocal Challenge?

I feel that I need to write some other form of story between each poem, although often that does not happen, nailing home what I see as my inherent laziness.

The devil inside of me beats me down and I let it at times. I feel that I never write any real stories, by that I mean fiction, but the reality is that I did, three days ago.

My brain almost acts like the mainstream media against me, telling me I am not good enough while my friends and audience tell me my work is amazing. I know I am good enough, and feel I am one of the best poets on Vocal, but that is my opinion, not anyone else's.

One of the reasons why the devil gets his way is my total lack of recognition for any of my resource pieces from Vocal. I wrote a piece on how to write a Villanelle, the people who read it found it very useful but it was ignored by Vocal and most Vocal Creators. The gets a bit like when you are a teenager and have a crush on someone but, to them, you don't exist, and then that starts to make you doubt yourself, but you have to ask "What about those who look up to you? Do you give them your time?"

Your effect on them may be the same as Vocal's effect on me.

Logic says ins should have no effect, but the reality is that it does.

And Some Further Thoughts

Looking at my creations and the work I do in the Vocal Social Society

And the help I give in these two Facebook Groups

I am probably not the laziest Creator on Vocal. I put in a lot of effort part of that is getting Vocal Social Society to 1250 through the Community Adventure program, the latest one you can see here. We always feature four stories from non-members and invite them to join our group.

Our Dynamic Duo highlights two of our members who have been engaging with other members over the past few weeks.

So I do a lot of work indirectly supporting Vocal Creators.

In "Raise Your Voice" and on Discord I push works that I believe should be Top Stories and usually. they are a given that accolade.

So I Got It Wrong

I nearly ditched this piece, but need to write articles like this to prove my worth to myself. I also think it helps others who may feel similar feelings to myself about how worthy they are.

I am told on a daily basis how good my work is, and how much I am loved, and the reality is, that that makes it all worthwhile.

Forget work not being chosen as Top Stories or being placed in Vocal Challenges and look at the reaction that you cause in Vocal and elsewhere just by creating and sharing Vocal Stories.

Vocal gives us a tool and it is up to us to use it properly and reap the benefits, and that is what I am doing and intend to keep doing.

Am I the laziest? A Resounding NO!!!

Am I the Greatest? I am working towards that.

Stream of ConsciousnessHumanityFriendshipCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    You are one of if not the most supportive creators here, Mike, & will always be appreciated for it.

  • See, it's nothing to do with the number of words. Someone can write 1000 words on a matter, beating around the bush and never getting to the point. Another person could get to that same point with just 10 words. So don't be too hard on yourself. Like you said, you definitely are not lazy. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! Definitely NOT lazy. Good on you and thanks for all your hard work and commitment to the vocal groups.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I see you always trying to write something new or relevant or updated :) You keep doing you! And you do SO MUCH for the fb groups that you're a part of...so many behind the scenes things and promotion on the main pages!!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Great title; great song...and maybe you are not lazy, but spreading yourself thin with all these groups? We are reading...

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Now, I wouldn't say that, lol. Great thoughts, tho

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    You are so right! I relate to being lazy! Then I think, what am I doing here? Working on becoming a better writer! Working on poetry and fiction now. I have the same thing where I write short fiction or poetry, then feel like I have to write at least a 600-word something😂😂

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    Real thoughts from a real writer. Sufficient? YES! You got this MIke, so keep getting it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.