Confessions logo

I Am Mikeydred

Written in response to Kayleigh Fraser ❤️'s Get To Know Me #Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
17
Me Van Goghed

Introduction

This is for Kayleigh Fraser ❤️'s Get To Know Me #Challenge after a push from Caroline. You can read about it here:

There is a line in the Bob Dylan song "Joey" that is perfect for me:

"Always on the Outside

Of Whatever Side There Was"

This is why I feel I miss challenges like this because I feel if someone doesn't ask me then I shouldn't be there, but Caroline did ask so here is my entry.

Here is the prompt:

Choose any 10 of your random quirks or facts that come to mind, don’t overthink them! And share in your stories 🥰❤️✨

1: I Am Not Very Intelligent Hence Imposter Syndrome

I managed a couple of 'A' Levels and an ONC in Business Studies, but never went to University and when I was made redundant in 2000 I was told I would never work again because I had no degree. As usual, I took no notice and have had several jobs since then.

I also suffer from intense Imposter Syndrome but still put things out and hope someone reads it and they do.

2: I Am Contradictory

Even though I hate regimentation and being told how to do things, I tend to stick to rules for my writing and get slightly annoyed when others ignore the rules, but my sensible side kicks in, and I just cope with it. I like having frameworks for some things and not for others.

3: I Am All Over Social Media

I have a YouTube channel where I talk and sing and create slideshows, with 220 followers and two hundred thousand views, and a blog where these days it's mainly about the books I read with 1.1m visits and six subscribers.

You can also find me on a few more sites all listed on my Vocal Profile.

I have also published five books on Amazon (the first accidentally) and have a few more in progress.

4: I Love Music

I sort of make noises with guitars and keyboards and try to sing. There is a lot of me on my YouTube Channel with covers and a few original pieces but I still can't really play, although I will be performing at a guest spot later in the year for the first time in fifteen years.

I was also a member of a Gospel Choir that backed Solomon Burke at the Sage in Gateshead on the main stage.

My music collection (digital and vinyl) is rather large and my taste is eclectic ranging from indigenous world music to classical, to metal, and most points in between.

As I write this I am listening to "Uncle Anesthesia" by The Screaming Trees after listening to "Dust" by them, and who knows what will be next.

5:I Look After Myself

I find it amusing when people think their life is over at twenty, thirty, forty, or fifty. A couple of quotes about this situation are.

Ian Kilmister: "If you think you are too old to rock and roll, then you are"

"About Getting Older, I Amd Not Enamoured With The Alternative"

I have survived Diabetes,ITP, Cirrhosis of the Liver, and Liver Cancer, possibly by doing lots of walking, eating reasonably well, being positive, and always looking for the good in things.

5:Children And Pets

I think I am very selfish. I love animals but as long as I can give them back to their owners, it's the same with children, although I love and am so proud of my wonderful daughters and granddaughter and I don't spend enough time with them.

6: My Modus Operandi

Is "There Has To Be A Better Way" but as long as I get the job done I am OK. I am always looking for ways of doing things more quickly and efficiently to give me more time to do more things.

7: I Am Supportive And WOKE

I am supportive of everyone being who they want to be however they want to be, and I am aware that racism and misogyny are still rampant in our society and need to be stamped out. I know my views have caused some antagonistic comments from people on Vocal and Facebook, but that is how I am, I am empathic, supportive, and aware of the past and present.

8: I Love Film, TV, Books, Theatre, And Live Music

My favourite film is "True Romance", my current fave TV includes "Supernatural", "M.A.S.H.", "Parks and Recreation", "Doctor Who", "Pointless", "House Of Games" and more.

I prefer small gigs to stadium gigs but was at the first Knebworth Festival headlined by The Rolling Stones, and love it when I get the chance to play live but always have nerves before a gig.

My favourite book is Clive Barker's "Imajica"

9: I Talk Too Much

Ask anyone who converses with me, though my eldest daughter Juliet, is even more talkative than me.

10: I Think My Writing Is Pretty Good

Although I have imposter syndrome, I sometimes check my older stories and poetry and think "My God, Did I Write That?" in a good way, because I feel I can write something worth reading.

Conclusion

I hope I made some sense with this and was not too boring

SecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
17

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    I love this Mike! Thank you for sharing all of this! I love your music and your youtube channel!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    #4 was a really surprise, I never would have guessed 🤪🙃 You've got 2 #5s?

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Wonderful to get more insight into your life. I think the one that surprised me was #9, but I love it! Thank you for sharing these pieces of you :)

  • When I saw this, I was like I could have sworn you've already done this and I've already read it. Then I accepted that no you didn't do this yet. But as I was reading from beginning to the end, I knew everything that you've said about you! But it was nice reading it!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    It is always great to know you better, Mike! You cannot talk as much as I do, though. No way! LOL!

  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    How lovely to get to know you better, Mike. Juliet is a beautiful name. I didn't know about your YouTube channel, I will check it out.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Mike, let me first say that I love your Van Goghed image!!! You confession was superbly written with impressive facts!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Excellent. So please you did this. You are a font of fascinating insights, references, and information. Lovely stuff. ❤

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    Great to learn more about you! I love the YT channel, the places you've been look incredible!

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Mr. Mike - Who you "Boring" - Just Mikey being Mikey j

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    A window into your world. Thanks for sharing with us! Like the Van Gogh picture too. That came out really well.

  • I resonate with all except for #s 3 & 4. Thanks for sharing this with us, Mike. (And, yeah, if you're not "woke" what are you?)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    And now we know you better! Great work!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I so hear you on not thinking the challenges are for me, like "oh, the cool kids have a game going on, I'll move on by". I'm trying to push through it, but I'm frequently so slow to figure out what's going on that I miss the boat. Thanks for sharing Mike.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This was excellent, Mike! Well done for taking part!

  • Forexweb store8 months ago

    https://forexwebstore.com/product/captain-america-forex-mt4-indicator/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.