Confessions logo

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

My Hilariously Awkward Misadventures In Love

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
DON'T WORRY, I WON'T BREAKUP WITH YOU! (Photo by Freddie Vegas)

Love is wonderful when it's good, but when it goes bad it can be a painful and bittersweet experience. Even the most compatible couples can sometimes fall apart, and it's never easy. Everyone has a breakup story, and while some are less dramatic than others, all are important learning experiences.

I've had my fair share of awkward and hilarious breakup stories, some of which still make me laugh, years later. From Belize City to Tokyo, I've been there and done that - and I'm here to share some of my experiences. It's therapeutic, really.

One of the more memorable breakups I had was in Mexico City, Mexico. I had met this amazing girl at a pub and we seemed to hit it off immediately. We spent the next few weeks exploring the city and having a great time together. Unfortunately, it wasn't meant to last. Our first fight, like our time together, was also memorable.

We were walking through the increasingly crowded streets of La Merced Market, looking for a good place to eat when she suddenly stopped. She had spotted her ex-boyfriend, who was also in the area. She told me this as she started to give chase. My heart sank as I watched her run towards him, yelling out his name.

I immediately thought we were over, as the guy she was in love with was standing right in front of her. Once things died down though, we had an awkward conversation about her ex. She kept saying the usual lines like he was a good guy, it was just bad timing. She assured me that I was the one she wanted but the damage was done. Sure, I tried to be understanding but deep inside that moment really tore me apart. We parted ways, and that was the last time I saw her.

Another dating mishap came on a trip to Belize City, Belize. I met an incredible woman while enjoying a glass of wine and a good book at a café. She was beautiful, smart and we both spoke Spanish, making it easier for us to communicate. Things went smoothly until she started talking about her ex. It seems that we have a recurring theme here.

I didn't want to be rude, so I tried to pretend to be a listening ear, which of course backfired. She started crying as she was telling me that she never felt the same way about anyone else as she did for her ex. I was left to deal with my own emotions while being supportive of hers, It wasn't until after she left that I realized how ridiculous the situation was. I was in the nitty gritty of Belize City and I was having an emotional conversation about someone else's ex, while I should have been enjoying other things. It was a funny moment that I could only laugh about afterwards.

Traveling the world and meeting new people exposes you to different cultures and ways of life that you may not be used to. It can be exciting and opens your mind to new experiences, but it can also leave you vulnerable in unfamiliar places.

One of the most interesting breakups I experienced was in Shinjuku City (Tokyo), Japan. I met this woman at a club and we hit it off. She didn't speak much English, and my attempts at Japanese were laughable at best, but we managed to communicate and had a good time together.

The next morning, I received a phone call from her. She sounded panicked and I could barely make out what she was saying. It turns out that her father saw us together and was not happy about it. He had forbidden her from seeing me, so we had to end things. It was a surreal experience, and it made me realize how different dating is in other countries.

Breakups are never easy, but sometimes they can lead to personal growth and reflections on what you're looking for in a relationship. These experiences helped me realize that communication is key, and it's important to be open and honest with your partner. Trying to be someone that you're not, or simply pretending to be okay with the situation, never leads to a good ending.

I deem it crucial to discover amusement in the predicament, even if it appears arduous in the moment. In the end, parting ways is a ubiquitous encounter and mirth is the supreme remedy. Whether it entails becoming disoriented in translation or chancing upon an ex amidst a bustling bazaar, these occurrences shall eternally constitute fragments of my narrative.

Disentangling is no easy feat, but it is an indispensable facet of existence. My romantic blunders have enlightened me that it is paramount to remain authentic, communicate candidly, and uncover amusement in all circumstances. Roaming the globe has exposed me to diverse cultures and manners of existence, and has engendered in me an appreciation for our congruities, despite our disparities. By and large, we are all striving to find love and bliss in our own idiosyncratic manner, even if it necessitates enduring a few turbulent separations en route.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

ChildhoodSecretsHumanityEmbarrassmentDating
1

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.