Confessions logo

Astrology - You are WAY more than just the Sun (and other things you might not know)

You are the whole damned Universe

By Roxanne CottellPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
Astrology - You are WAY more than just the Sun (and other things you might not know)
Photo by Brett Ritchie on Unsplash

I am an Astrologer.

There are a lot of us online. Each one of us has our own way of interpreting things. The one thing that I am often asked to interpret is when anyone is going to meet their perfect partner.

What typically happens during that conversation is NOT what is expected by either of us.

What we - not just I find out, but we, is NOT what is expected by anyone. Astrologers do not uncover who is on their way to us, but, why it is anyone desires to have a particular sort of person in their lives, and specifically in their beds sharing some very intimate moments, words, things.

The things that these people finally have as confirmation, or, more precisely, the things that they did not know WHY they were so affected by suddenly make a whole lot of sense.

Almost all of us go back in time - not forward, because going backwards allows us to see the patterns that maybe you might not be able to see or see quite in the same way that each of us will.

And every Astrologer, even the ones who will read and disagree with these words....every single one of us does NOT ask others like us for their opinion on a reading, unless, of course, it is the person who we called our teacher.

One of mine lives in South Dakota and teaches Yoga as well as still reads Astrology, and another lives in Northern California, and yet another lives in Tennessee. My initial teacher was my Aunty Kalei who passed away last year. So, you see, not all learning is learned from one teacher, and not all students will learn the same way. Just because my readings are not like any of these ladies, it does not mean that they are interpreted incorrectly.

Which is another thing all together, because there are always going to be people who we share the air with who will tell anyone at all, about anything at all, that what we are doing, and how we did it is wrong.

Let me tell you this much - unless you are predicting and guaranteeing the people who you read for that everything that you say is going to happen - no Astrological interpretation is ever "wrong." What is wrong is that there are too many clients who want us to tell you the future and almost all of us will tell you to look at your past.

Maybe not in those words, but, lots of us, myself included, will tell you to do that first.

Lots of us actually ask a LOT of questions - get it straight, kiddos....we are NOT trying to tell you the future - we are trying to help anyone get a clearer picture about the present. We are telling you what we see and see in the most neutral way. There have been times that I wanted to state right then and there that given the pattern of behaviors that I have been told about, and seeing what I am seeing in front of me in someone, anyoneʻs chart, that there is a lot of good coming. (I promise I really want to)

But, integrity and my code of ethics as an Astrologer are VERY high, meaning that you are going to get an accurate reading, but that none of it is predictive in any other way than that you have just told me your pattern. You cannot see your pattern. Others have seen it for years, and it comes out of their mouths as a complaint about how you are being to them or anyone else.

Somewhere in your chart is where people like me are going to find out what your trip is and if I am who is reading for you, you are GOING TO GET the truth, no matter what. I will be as kind as I possibly can be, but, always, no matter what, I am going to tell you what I see and not what you want to hear.

Period.

I am not that Astrologer who is going to try to convince you of anything (but the Life Coach I am will do her best to steer you, guide you, by that chart, to yourself, and not so that you will come back again - my clients usually do come back a whole lot. I am truthful. It might hurt. But later on when it matters, you and I are going to laugh about the things that your former you did...no, really.)

Not all Astrologers are life coaches, but lots of life coaches, like myself, have practiced Astrology from a very young age, and we are first and foremost committed to the ancient craft that a lot of us are only now learning helps with understanding their clients. I have done this for years with my coaching clients.

Not all of us work this way, even though almost all of us do see patterns. Much depends on what it is that you are looking for that guides us. Lots of us also use other things, such as divinatory cards, runes, crystals and pendulums.

But even those things, when we ask, depend a whole lot on what you are asking, your energy, and if you are being completely honest - not with us, but, with yourself.

That is the part that scares a whole lot of people.

Most use the excuse that I will see what they do not want me to see, but what most do not realize is that I already see it in your behavior, and I hear it in the choice of words you are using and the context those words come out as...tone and inflection also matter, at least to me. (Anyone else love that TV show that is now unfortunately no longer being made called Lie To Me? GREAT GREAT show).

Unless your Astrologer is gifted with second sight, they are using what we all have access to, which is your intuition. What sets us apart from the rest of the humans on this planet is that learning about what motivates people motivates us. It is not, for a lot of us, at all anything to do with having these strange and mystical powers.

It really is just about gleaning a better understanding of what makes people who they are, what makes them behave a certain way. Aside of genetics (which also has its place in Astrology but that is for another writing) how someone "is" rests completely on who they are and how they react or respond. I have called Astrology the most ancient form of Psychology doubted by modern man.

For me to hear people doubt it, and then call folks like me stupid, or crazy or anything else just tells me in great detail about how little people really understand about just how ancient life really is. Just like all learning is not derived from only one expert or teacher, it is not as though, at one time in the history of human beings, those very humans who were scholars, prophets, seers and Shaman all looked to the stars for the guidance that to this day, people yet seek.

It is not that we are not intuitive (all humans are - we just have to use it so it gets stronger), and neither that we do not know our stuff (it takes a LOT of study and practice, no matter who tells you that I am wrong. Anyone whose livelihood involves charting the stars and who is filled with integrity instead of crap will agree here with me on this one) - it takes more than just having a document stating you graduated....homework is actually a thing, for all of us, because we never stop learning.

To tell the truth of things - Astrology is a very ancient thing that lots of people still do not believe is useful, and at least this particular chart interpreter is very good at telling people about themselves and why they want anything, in any certain manner, at all. This does not mean that what I say is set in stone. It means that whoever I am reading for now has my perspective, and one that is, like many othersʻ, damned nearly spot on.

For some Astrologers like myself, I am not looking for your future - I am looking for where you have been and how you got there and most of all, what brought you specifically to me.

Once I see someoneʻs chart, there are things there that because of my actual education and degree in Behavioral Science, my Astrological mind joins forces with that education and together, with whoever I am reading for, we figure out the thing that has been bothering them, possibly for years.

When they tell me about their time as a kid, and tell me about what happened, and tell me things that I am not allowed to tell ANYONE else, we BOTH see what the person may never have even thought about. This is typically when someone like me hears "No wonder why people tell me I am just like my grandma - because she did this, that, and the other, too - it ...and I suddenly make a whole lot of sense."

Am I claiming that I am the only one on this planet that does it this way?

Not at all.

What I AM saying is that no one is going to find out every answer they want in their lives using Astrolgy, and no Astrologer with a strict code of ethics is going to tell anyone that everything we see in your chart is going to happen - that part is up to you.

Seriously, all we can see there is your potential, and in my case what your personality is, given all of your planets and signs and stars and house, and all of their positions in the sky. I can also see the potential for the things that on your own, you will allow to be an obstacle to the things that you are intending and hopefully manifesting.

Never believe for one moment that what we tell you is set in stone. Nothing is ever set in stone...except the stone itself. Never believe what your history tells you, which is always that you cannot change the way that you do things. You can, and it is all laid out for everyone in those charts.

The biggest thing of all is that while we are all truly living as our sun signs (because we canʻt not), the other truth is that like the title states - we are all so very much more than just the Sun in our charts.

For instance, I am a Pisces, but lots of people mistake me for a Leo (because of my hair, which is answered by my rising sign, the Ascendant, which is Leo), while even many others see me as being a Scorpio. This is NOT what anyone would think of Pisces - super hot dominatrix.

Scorpio can and sometimes does present itself as a super hot, super paranoid dominatrix crazy lady, depending upon the rest of the chart and the time of the year and oh hell yes much depends on what the other planets are doing and where they have wandered to lately...and lots of other things that actually matter in terms of the daily energies.

The reason that people do this is because in certain parts of the chart (the houses) we will, through our sun sign, take on shades of the sign currently representing the time of year through the sun wherever that planet may be for the time being (that whole transiting planet thing). When I am asked about it, I do not sugarcoat things.

If I see it in your chart, all of the reasons why people keep on leaving your life (and it is NOT retrograde season), it will be there and I will see it soon enough.

It might not jump out at me, because while looking at a chart, I am seeing where everything connects, intersects, intercepts, and flat out is NOT going to happen (probably because you have told me it, whatever it is, has not ever happened) - it may well be that because the sign in a house is the same sign as your lunar south node and this simply means that we need to look elsewhere in your chart to see where and IF it CAN...not WILL happen for you.

And yes, it is, like all else, GOING TO TAKE WORK ON YOUR PART.

Nothing in your natal chart is going to take the initiative for you.

- and even that part is there for me to see, as well - where it is that you are going to go all out, and where it is that you will never (because you have never seen where it is possible or not) .

So, when you want to know what your trip is, hell yeah ask an Astrologer. Donʻt expect any one of us to know what your questions are, because we are not psychics.

Again...it so does NOT mean that there are NOT psychic Astrologers. It means that people are different, even the Professional Weirdos we share the air with on Planet Earth.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Roxanne Cottell

Iʻm a certified NLP Life coach in SoCal who writes about healing, astrology, my life as a community voice, as well as making sure the world knows that Hawaii is home to lots of people - my people, Na Kanaka Maoli O Hawaii Nei.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.