Confessions logo

A Sort Of Problem

When Your Mind Tries To Stop You From Creating (No I Am Not God)

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2022
28

Introduction

I recently wrote a piece setting myself a task to create a fiction that was entirely positive. I wasn’t sure I could do it, but I did, and the story I am talking about is at the end of this one. So what is my problem?

The Problem

I was going to write a fiction, but because my last one was totally positive my mind and heart are trying to direct me to do it again. As many people have pointed out adversity and jeopardy are required to make a story interesting, you take out those elements and you then are removing some of the basic building blocks of every great story.

Even comedy has its basis in tragedy or things going wrong so you may be laughing but often it is something going wrong for someone else.

Because I have written ONE adversity-free story I am telling myself I should keep going in that direction, and I know that would be driving into a cul-de-sac of blandness, a sort of magnolia-walled room of creation, and nobody wants that do they?

Vocal has just released a new challenge which you can read about below, and the immediate idea is not positive (I have an idea but it will be dark rather than light). You can read about the challenge below.

So A Solution?

I have an interview to sort out with Louise Distras about her new single “Black Skies” and that is fine because I am writing about something that already exists, and I suppose it will be positive. My review of "Black Skies" is at the end of this story.

When you report on something or conduct an interview you have things to work with, they don’t need to come from your imagination although you have to have enough inspiration to provide questions that will result in responses from the interviewee.

Back To Writing

I always tell people I can find something to write about and this is an example of that premise. I always look for things and, in this world, we have a lot to write about. My writing, as I have mentioned several times before, employs a scattergun approach and that puts people off my writing because they don’t know what they are going to get although I always try to give fair warning.

I do sometimes have a problem with others' writing when it continually hits the same subject and eventually, they lose me as a reader but not a Facebook friend and I know they are getting read by people who are interested in their work. If I didn’t think that was happening I would drop in to make sure that they knew they were being read.

Part of this is that our reading time is limited, and I do a lot of reading of others' work and I am always looking to read the work of new creators. This reading actually stimulates me to write and is a great source of inspiration for me. Often we worry that our writing will not be appreciated but generally the people who don’t like it won’t comment or read it, so mostly you will get positive feedback and constructive criticism.

In my eighteen months on Vocal, I have written eight hundred and eighty stories and have had maybe ten people who have really hurt me with their comments, some group administrators who should know better, but I have had thousands of positive and supportive comments and they are the ones that matter.

Conclusion

This story proves that I really can write about anything, and I hope it has given a little insight into me and my creations

Bad habitsFriendshipHumanitySecretsEmbarrassment
28

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeffrey Allison12 months ago

    Interesting and nice opening picture.

  • Kimabout a year ago

    I feeeel this!

  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    I thought the music was great! So was the article!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really enjoy everything I've read of yours - I'm sorry about that handful of people who couldn't word their opinions more constructively. Honestly, when people can't express themselves in a way that disagrees with you and also builds you up, it says something about THEIR writing abilities, not yours. ☺️ I hope that made sense. Anyway, you have inspired me to think outside the box about my own story topics. Gotta look for ways to keep it fresh! Great article, Mike!

  • Arun kumar barikabout a year ago

    Yes, that is true. And my problem is that I think very much means I overthink very much.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I always enjoy what you write, some more than others. That is what I like about your style Mike. This one made me think.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Very insightful!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Thank you Mike... You inspire me often to better myself and to keep on writing. I am now inspired to write a positive only adversity free story!!!

  • So nice to see that you're not letting those who hurt you to hold you back. And I'm happy that you want to go in the positive direction with your story. Always write what you want. Don't bother about the haters

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Congratulations on another Top Story, Mike! It’s wonderful that you make a point to be supportive of new writers (and many older ones too). You deserve to be supported in everything you do. You are a light in a world that can be much too dark sometimes. ❤️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Congrats on top story too💖😊💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story. Well done.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your new top story

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Anyone who is Intentionally being rude and hurtful with their “feedback” needs to stop or be stopped. Sorry brother hearted

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Another thoughtful piece from you :) Congratulations on receiving a Top Story for it!! And write what you want. Can you write more positive fiction? Sure. But only write it if that's the story that's speaking to you. I like that you write about all kinds of different things. It spices things up :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Congrats on making Top Story with this one, Mike! Well done! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.