Confessions logo

A Perfect Storm

Sometimes It's No Ones Fault But Everything Goes Wrong For You - But Good Friends Save The Day

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
15
Sometimes It Really Hurts

This week I had an absolutely awful day mentally. One day I was chatting with friends and Vocal friends on Facebook , working and chatting with work colleagues then my Friend Krista asked me for help moving a table so I had a couple of hours with her and her friends , and for the first time in my life actually went into the Byker Wall.

☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️☠️

I suppose I am a bit of an attention whore and that day to me was a perfect day.

Many years ago I asked some work friends out and we decided to go to the Tyneside Irish Centre. I was a member because our band Spoon used to play there to raise money for various charities, so I signed everyone in (six people) and they found a table and I got the first round in. I brought the drinks on the tray and handed them out and then realised there was nowhere for me to sit and I was being blanked when I asked them to make some room. There was no movement or acknowledgement .

I sat alone at another table, finished my drink and then left . I felt pushed out , ignored , and really upset.

The following day they asked me where I had gone, I was sort of exasperated and said it wasn’t very nice being forced to drink alone while my “friends” ignored me. It was eventually forgotten about but I never did that again. I really can’t take being ignored and left out , and then people being completely oblivious to how it affected me.

Anyway, the perfect storm day.

I was not feeling too great and had to run some jobs to extract data at 7am just in case of any problems. I missed my morning walk which sets me up for the day , and gets your body revved up , but because of the work tasks that was missed. I wasn’t being forced by anyone to do this and the task should have taken fifteen to thirty minutes, leaving me time for a walk.

It took three hours due to network problems. This meant that other start of month jobs were piling up and I hadn’t spoken to anyone. I was working in total isolation and not feeling great about it.

I then thought I would phone a friend or maybe have a WhatsApp call but no one was answering.

Then I thought I would go onto Facebook to chat with my Vocal friends. I had nothing to post so I left a couple of comments but there was no reaction. I don’t tend to message people to say hello on Facebook , but I was desperate for some conversation, but people have their lives to lead.

One of my my problems is that most of the people I chat with ar across the Atlantic so they are getting up when it’s two o’ clock in the afternoon for me, then they have a working day and that takes my time to ten o’ clock at night and by the time they are finished I am in bed.

Like me however they drop into Facebook while working.

But this day there was virtually nothing.

I was thinking no one wants me here , maybe I should just shut my Facebook account down. I had posted a couple of unacknowledged comments so I started deleting them, and thought I would just unfriend my best friends in the Vocal groups , all very self destructive.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

I have a sensible angel that told me to knock it off , it’s just a day , when nothing goes right and if you leave these friends you really hurt them. I went to bed early, had left a short goodnight to my Muse, got into bed and then got back up and left a real goodnight.

This morning we had a long chat before they fell asleep which really charged me up , feeling ready to write a lot of things. Our chat was while I was walking so a doublegood start to the day.

Been chatting to work friends, chatting to lots of friends on Facebook and yesterday is behind me with lessons learned.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

A song to go with this, maybe Johnny Cash’s tear jerking cover of Nine Inch Nails’ “Hurt”

I am in a good place and thank you to everyone who cares for me , inspires me and encourages me.

☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

Workplace
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.