Confessions logo

A Christmas Visit With Mother Combs

A Getting to Know me Article

By Mother CombsPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
20
Image by Susan Cipriano from Pixabay

With Christmas coming on, I thought my readers would like to know a few Holiday facts about me. So, I have compiled a list of ten Christmas Facts about me.

I would also like to encourage my readers to share ten Christmas Facts about themselves with us. It can be whatever you want, as long as it concerns the Christmas season.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

  1. My favorite Christmas movie is It’s a Wonderful Life. It is a hard choice, but that is the one I would have to pick. James Stewart was excellent, as usual. You should watch it once if you have never seen it. There is a reason it is a Christmas Classic.
  2. My favorite Christmas song is any of the old Christmas Carols. I love listening to classic Carols on Christmas day. I only listen to them on Christmas day, too. I will change the station if they come on the radio before Christmas.
  3. I have never drunk eggnog. I have no desire to. I would like something more appetizing to me. I have smelt it and did not like the smell of it, so I did not try it.
  4. I hardly eat sweets during the year, but something about Christmas always makes me want to eat holiday cookies and fudge while drinking cocoa with peppermint. The more Christmassy the cookie, the more likely I will pick it to eat.
  5. The Elf on the Shelf is creepy. If I were a kid, he would give me nightmares. No doll should be able to “move” on its own. I would be scared I would wake up with it in bed with me.
  6. I taught my kids that whoever gave a gift was Santa Claus. I explained to them that some parents told their kids a big story to make Christmas more fun and asked my kids not to spoil it for any other child who said they believed in Santa. My children kept the secret. They enjoy being Santa.
  7. I don’t watch Hallmark Movies. I find them too corny and cry from the sheer stupidity of the plot. Sorry. My feelings on the matter.
  8. I love Christmas Decorations. The lights, the tree, the bells, and everything. I love it all. Colored Lights can make an old house look like a gingerbread house. I could look at the decorations all day and never tire of it.
  9. I once went out caroling with a youth group. It was a fun experience. Even though we all sounded terrible, we still put a smile on people’s faces. I don’t remember what I got that year for Christmas, but I’ll never forget going out caroling.
  10. I can guess any gift with a ninety-five percent success rate, no matter the type of wrapping paper and box you put it in. I have been able to do this since I was thirteen years old. My stepmom told me I was not allowed to touch the gifts, or else I would know all my gifts.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Come on in

Sit on down

Where have you been

I’m so glad you came around

Sit by the tree

I have a gift for you

Would you like to drink cocoa with me

No, I didn’t buy you shoes

Sit and visit

Talk with me for a while

Here, have a biscuit

I sure do love your smile

I’m glad you stopped by

We’ll have to do this again

I know you have to fly

Don’t forget your present, then

FriendshipHumanityFamilyChildhood
20

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    My son is an uncanny gift guesser too!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    What a fun prompt- thank you for sharing yourself with us!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous and wonderfully written!!! Lovely Christmas traditions!!!💕❤️❤️

  • That was a lot of fun. Thank you for sharing Mother Combs.

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    Christmas has always been a mixed bag for me. Growing up, presents consisted of 2 shirts 1 pair of pants for school, and 1 toy, but we never went hungry. The rest is not necessary to share other than to say my wife and I share the love all year and our special day is our anniversary.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    What a fun story! I love eggnog, It's A Wonderful Life, and have never been caroling. Thank you for sharing.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    OH I love eggnog, the more rum the better, its the only time i will drink any rum stuff, except in sorrel drink, which is what we make, or in cakes at Christmas. Ok I do rum at Christmas. Interesting list.

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I definitely agree with some of those

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    A very nice list! I found some similarities and some differences. Big surprise, huh? 😉 I enjoyed the poem, too. Well done!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    I loved your Poem at the end M Combs! ☺️👍 I have seen It’s a wonderful life in years but it stays with you. No. 7 😁😆 I’m trying to think of what holiday movies I like but I will have to get back to you on that ..

  • I'm very adventurous when it comes to trying new foods and drinks. But would I try eggnog? I would if it wasn't named eggnog. I kinda gag each time I see that word, lol. It's just so gross to me hahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Thanks for sharing more about you!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Makes me warm and fuzzy

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    💖💖💖 I also don't like eggnog. Yes! I've tried it but don't understand it and its popularity! 🤢 Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.