Confessions logo

7:36

Getting Away with the Unthinkable

By Itsactuallywarren Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

7:36. Why was it.... SHIT! I jump out of bed, and I mentally strangle myself for letting this happen again. Work started six minutes ago, which means I would normally be driving up right about now. Damn it damn it damn it! Why does this always happen? I pick up my phone, which suprisingly has no angry messages yet, and I text my boss, letting him know how embarrisingly late I will be in today. Which excuse should I use this time? No you idiot, just tell the truth for once. I let him know I overslept, but I intentionally omit the part where I stayed up till 4:00 a.m. doing something no boss would accept as a valid excuse.

Of course, last night none of this was really on my mind. Her eyes made me forget anything about the future or any responsibilities I should have been attending to, today or any day. They are just that subtle shade of green between a spring meadow and a minty dessert... they could make me forget about just about anything, really. Her little laugh always finds a way to sneak out when we kiss, and my smile can't help but follow it. Her fiery hair would make her easy to pick out of any crowd, it just always manages to catch the light just right. And her lips... where to even begin? Was it not her kisses that drained the hours from the night, the only reason I didn't sleep a wink?

7:43. How does this always happen to me? I snap out of my daydream and slip on my work boots. Her influence on me crashes into all parts of my life, and even getting ready for another gruelling day in the hot sun cannot keep me from thinking of her. Lunch? Gloves? Water? I guess I have everything, but surely there is something I am forgetting. I'm not in the right mindset for any form of employment right now, this is certainly the day I will be fired.

But even if I do get fired, is it even really all that bad? I have last night, and I have her. What more could I need in this crazy world? She makes my heart race like a dog rushing to see it's owner after too many days away. My shoulders are lightened from the burdens of the heaviest days. Her touch, so soft and gentle that even the gossamer whisps of clouds in the greatest sunsets cannot compare to the beauty my heart feels. Even if things don't work out with her, I have the memory of last night, and is that not enough?

7:55. What?! Somehow I only have five minutes to make a twelve minute trip. I slam on the gas, and the aging spark plugs in the engine try their best to keep up with my foot's heavy presence on the pedal. Surely they will be furious, they will never listen to my apologies after this. The line certainly exists, and in all my broken inadequaecy I have finally crossed it. Surely I'll have to wait at the intersect... or perhaps not?

The light is green, and suddenly a calm comes over me. Maybe the whole world isn't against me! Of course, she never was to begin with, but perhaps I have more going for me than I thought. The light stays green in the distance, promising everything will be alright. I zoom through the intersection, and even though I am late and my life is a mess, I have hope. Hope for what has been, what is, and what is to come, and maybe in this moment--this precious, fleeting moment--that's enough.

8:01. They didn't even realize I was late again. I don't know why I was ever worried to begin with.

I wonder what she's doing tonight?

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Itsactuallywarren

Just a confused kid trying to find my way in the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.