BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: The Lost Bookshop by Evie Woods

A tale of magic and tragedy and love and books - I mean, is there anything else that a reader can require from a novel?

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Rachel Reviews: The Lost Bookshop by Evie Woods
Photo by kevin laminto on Unsplash

It's always telling how good a book is if you are able to read it quickly and that was the case for me and The Lost Bookshop. It was a really nice novel, which in itself, sounds like a fatuous and trite assessment of something which doesn't really have a lot about it at all.

But that was very much NOT the case with this.

The book concerns itself with three main characters and their stories: Martha, Henry and Opaline. The story actually begins with Martha and a schoolboy entering her shop and so, the novel leads us back to this spot via an extremely circuitous but entertaining route.

Ward takes us into Martha's past and to her arrival in Dublin. Martha finds herself a job as a housekeeper and shortly after, encounters Henry who is on a quest to find a lost bookshop. Intrigued by what Henry claims, that there should be a bookshop near to where he stands outside Martha's window (there is no sign of it), Martha becomes friends with Henry and they find their lives inextricably linked.

Opaline's story is brought to the forefront by Henry's curiosity about the lost bookshop, Opaline having been the owner of it at one time and so, Ward takes us through Opaline's life, her loves, her trials and her shows of strength, as she lives a life devoted to rare books and their purchase and sale.

Things that I liked about this book are numerous: I loved all of the characters bar the baddies, who are easily recognisable for the bullies they are. The banter that Ward creates make the heroes seem real and funny and vulnerable but determined to overcome - a winsome combination.

I loved the thread of magic realism which permeates the book and there are lots of lovely touches which echo throughout, reappearing when the plot requires it.

It's not all light: there is dark subject matter too, concerning mental health issues and also the abuse of responsible positions but this is part of the story rather than a focus and drives the plot.

All in all, this was a good read. I would look to read Ward again, probably for the interaction between characters more than anything else; and because her novel, this time, had lightness and goodness in it and a touch of magic and we all need that.

Oh, and books.

Rachel Rating: 4/5 stars

This review was first published on Reedsy Discovery:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers. But also, drop a comment if you've read it and we can discuss it.

ReviewRecommendationFictionDiscussionAnalysis

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Great idea to use the BookClub community- I definitely need to start doing that! Excellent review Rachel. I feel like I know enough about this book now, without it being spoiled! And I think I would read it too- the bookshop hooks me in haha.

  • Hmmm, still thinking if I should add this to my TBR. I feel I would enjoy the banter but still conflicted. Hahahaha I'll think about it. Loved your review!

  • Sounds fun.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Great review, as always, Rachel. I'm not sure I'll read it, but I'm certainly glad to know this good book exists.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.