BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A book which is taking the bestseller lists by storm, which is actually a rather enjoyable fantasy read of faeries & humans, power & passion

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Rachel Reviews: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Photo by Julio Rionaldo on Unsplash

I'm not going to lie to you: I was filled with many reservations before starting this book, recommended to me as it was by a friend who, having been lured into it by people around her, found that it lacked a certain something for her. My vision of my reading was one of endurance, where I had to try and get through it for her sake so that we could then tear it apart and examine its parts in a derisory and scathing manner for our own amusement. In the context of the action of the book, this is quite apt.

It was not as bad as I thought it was going to be. In many ways, it was not bad at all. Okay, I will admit to quite enjoying it. It's not normally a read that I would choose, it being fantasy romance - faeries and humans - but what the heck? I'm an eclectic reader and I am a great believer in forming your own opinion about something rather than being led there by what someone else thinks.

And so, I entered the faery realm.

The story is told in the first person by Feyre who starts the book in poverty, living on the edges of a forest in a dilapidated hut with her father and her two sisters. Feyre is the provider, hunting and bringing home the bacon, as it were. They were previously financially secure and so for her sisters, their fall from grace has been particularly hard.

When Feyre kills a wolf in the forest, her life changes forever and she is whisked off beyond the wall by Tamlin, a High Lord of one of the faery courts. She is essentially a hostage and there she lives in relative luxury but in a world which is plagued with danger.

As a result, Tamlin is constantly having to fight to protect himself and Feyre and his minions.

This book reads well. Feyre is gutsy but I found being inside her head all the time a bit annoying. The menace is well conceived and there is violence galore as well as passion. I thought Tamlin as the main love interest was a bit bland and preferred other faeries like Lucien and Rhysand as characters, feeling I had a greater awareness of their personality. But there is plenty of action, threat, world building. There were some things that I thought were a bit naff but I'd have to add a spoiler alert and so I'll leave you to find out for yourself.

Entertaining faery fluff.

Rachel Rating: 4/5 stars

Parts of this review were first published on Reedsy Discovery:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers. If you have read it, please do come back and let me know what you make of it.

AnalysisReviewFictionDiscussion

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I'm not a fan of fantasy or romance. And this is a combo of both, so I'll pass hahahahaha. I know you said that there's threat and violence but I'm still gonna pass. Awesome review!

  • Very good, honest, well-thought out review, Rachel. Though I was kind of expecting 3/5 for your rating. Probably not going to invest the time in it as I have no friend wanting me to read it so that we might rip it apart together, lol.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I read a book by this author - cant even recall which one. I was very scathing about it all the way through - like, EVERY one in it was impossibly attractive. And yet - I might read the next in the series all the same.

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Entertaining faery fluff tells me everything I need to know. 🤪 Thanks for the warning! Excellent review as per always.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Oh, so glad you did this one!! I'm guessing you have no intention of reading more in the series, but things really get good. Rhysand is one of my all-time book boyfriends, lol. Although I love Sarah J. Maas and have been reading her stuff for many years, Feyre is not my favorite character. I love the Throne of Glass series more. Great review without giving too much away!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.