BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: Flappy Investigates by Santa Montefiore

Not a lot to recommend this book from my viewpoint. Content was superficial, characters annoying: more irritating than enjoyable

By Rachel DeemingPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
7
Rachel Reviews: Flappy Investigates by Santa Montefiore
Photo by Gabriel McCallin on Unsplash

I bought this book for my mum for Christmas and I could tell by the way that she halfheartedly thanked me that it was something which she had already read and something that she had not thoroughly enjoyed. Far be it from me to judge a book by its cover but I did with this one, in my bid to find something that would be well received, and plumping for this because of the tagline on the front: Fabulously fun and gorgeously gossipy.

Unfortunately, the cover and that statement are the best two things about this book: the first for the gorgeous colours; and the second, for the masterful use of alliteration which sucked me right in.

Flappy is a middle-aged someone who lives in the village of Badley Compton, your archetypal rural idyll somewhere in England with a harbour but no tourists to upset the tranquil country atmosphere so cultivated by those amongst us who value their little corner of the world and want it unspoilt by interlopers.

Flappy is queen of her domicile: everyone respects her; she is attractive and a trendsetter; she feels like she has a reputation to defend at all costs and in the name of good taste.

Santa Montefiore, I think, tries to create this idea of Flappy being well-meaning and lovable; that she doesn't really see herself clearly and that the idea that she has of herself is the truth, when really she is actually something completely different. The tone of the book is meant to be playful, the author poking fun at her creation by pointing out her inconsistencies and hypocrisies whilst actually rather liking her.

However, for me, Flappy is just plain irritating. I found her superficial, again, which I think is intended, but rather than finding this fun, it just grated on me. Her concerns are about how she will be perceived by others and there is this sense of her not wanting to let others down but her main underlying concern is more about not showing herself up and being subject to the derision or pity of the people who occupy the same village. Normally, I would address them as peers but there is an overriding feeling that Flappy does not see these others as her equal - far from it.

I finished reading it to form an opinion of it. I will not be reading "Flappy" books again.

Rachel Rating: 2/5 stars

This review was first published on Reedsy Discovery:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, please drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers. If you read the book and want to disabuse me of my poor opinion of it, please do leave a comment explaining why so that I can argue you into aligning yourself with my point of view.

AnalysisReviewFictionDiscussion
7

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock26 days ago

    Flappy flops. A review with only 2 Rachel Deems! Sounds similar to "Lord Der Atzte - Gentleman Detective" by Kelly Sibley on this platform, but failing to achieve the whimsy & delight of Kelly's humor.

  • Omgggg, I too would have fell for that cover and tagline! But somehow, even after reading how you felt about this book, I still feel like reading it 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Caroline Craven27 days ago

    Think I need to get my eyes checked… I thought you said her name was Flabby and I was like - wild! What a crazy name! It’s always gutting when the cover and reviews are so much better than the book itself. My old news editor used to say alliteration was the saviour of dull stories and headlines!

  • John Cox27 days ago

    Thanks again for a timely warning. Your description of Flappy is so strikingly similar to Lucia in the comic Mapp & Lucia series by EF Benson, that I’d hazard the guess that it’s a borderline steal. I have a literate neighbor who adores the Mapp & Lucia series (I have tried, mostly in vain, not to hold it against her after she gifted me with the series). They were funny at first, but Lucia quickly became quite irksome.

  • Jay Kantor27 days ago

    Rd ~ After reading and humming to H.M.S. Pinafore~ish. I'd Polish up the Handle of your Big front door in return for 'Sage' learnin' from U'z. JiBud

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.