BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: Dragonfly by MJ Mumford

The finale to the Syd Brixton trilogy is a continuation of the fast pace and action of the others in the series, leading to a satisfying end

By Rachel DeemingPublished 28 days ago 2 min read
4
Rachel Reviews: Dragonfly by MJ Mumford
Photo by kalai venthan gopal on Unsplash

And so, the final instalment in MJ Mumford's Timeblink series has been read and I have to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed all the books in the series.

The difficulty that I have in writing this review is revealing too much about what happens in it and spoiling the story for people before they've read it so I am going to try and be as circumspect as I can without giving away too much of the plot.

At the end of the last book, we were left with a cliffhanger where Syd, our heroine, was faced with one of the worst scenarios of the whole series, involving someone who she dearly loves going missing. Those of you who have read the first Timeblink book will know that this is something that Syd has faced before and the uncovering of the mystery surrounding the disappearance of her twin in that book was the driver of the plot.

Dragonfly, then, continues on where Book 2, Flight 444 left us including some of the characters who were introduced from the plot of that book, the main one being Jarrett, the good-looking cop who seems to be sticking around for Syd.

The stakes are higher for Syd in this book as they were in Book 1, as she has to battle her emotions as well as face the loss of a loved one, in a life that has been full of loss. What I liked about Dragonfly is that Mumford effectively wraps up the trilogy and does it in a way that is convincing and satisfying. Syd continues to be the spicy, sensual, strong individual who does not baulk from a challenge and is prepared to grit her teeth and confront if need be.

Again, the threats are there but the action is not dark enough to be terrifying; as a writer, Mumford is able to get you to empathise with Syd and what she's going through and so, you are with her every step of the way. If I had a criticism, it's that it didn't feel as developed as the other books, although I still enjoyed it. It felt shorter and although it didn't feel rushed, it felt less meaty: it wasn't lacking in anything but it felt lighter in some way. It's difficult to put my finger on.

However, it is good and I recommend Mumford as a writer wholeheartedly.

Rachel Rating: 4/5 stars

This review was first published on Reedsy Discovery where I was privileged to read it as an ARC:

You can read my reviews of other books in the series at the links below:

Timeblink

Flight 444

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers. If you go on to read the book, please do let me know what you think of it!

RecommendationReviewFictionDiscussion
4

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock26 days ago

    Nicely reviewed again, Rachel. Though this leaves me wondering, if it ends with a cliffhanger, how do you know that it's the conclusion of a trilogy rather than simply one more in a series?

  • I get what you mean by it being not rushed but less meaty and lighter. That's how I felt when I read the third book in the To All The Boys I've Loved Before trilogy by Jenny Han. Lol yes, I used to be a sucker for romance many many years back and I read it in 2016, before it was made into movies. So anyway, the first two books were really good. But the final one lacked something. Like I kept waiting and waiting for something, but that was it. The book ended. Not to say it wasn't good but it kinda lacked the magic of the first two books. So I guess that's how you feel about this book.

  • John Cox27 days ago

    Another excellent review, Rachel!

  • L.C. Schäfer28 days ago

    I don't have a Reedsy account anymore. I wonder if I made a mistake 🤔 I like that you've done a pretty good review with spoiling anything. I really need to not add anything else to my TBR pile. I should probably stop reading your reviews! 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.