BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: Flight 444 by MJ Mumford

Continuing the Timeblink series, Flight 444 is another enjoyable thriller that expands on Syd's story but also goes in a whole new direction

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
3
Rachel Reviews: Flight 444 by MJ Mumford
Photo by Nils Nedel on Unsplash

I really like MJ Mumford's books. This is the second one of hers that I've read and again, I thoroughly enjoyed it. They are easy to read and I can whip through them without any jarring or questioning - they flow, the characters are believable and I feel satisfied with where she takes me plot-wise.

In this book, Syd find herself on a flight with her half-sister Lainie and they are heading home when something goes wrong on the flight. Obviously, with Syd's ability to time travel on a whim, she'd be stupid to stay on a flight that she thinks is going to crash and so, she hightails it out of there; only this time, it's not just her and so, she finds herself in a situation where she's managed to save the one she loves but some extra passengers come along for the ride. This is where it gets a little tricky for Syd as how do you explain to unsuspecting people that they have just travelled through time and that that is what has saved them from near certain death?

If you are looking for gritty science fiction or some sort of quantum physics complexity in this book, you are going to be dissatisfied. It's not very sciency and that suits me fine. There are dark moments and threats but generally, the feel of Mumford's books is one of fun and love and romance with time travel being at the heart of it but not the engine that drives everything. It is a vehicle for the story and it works, I think, as long as you don't question it too closely. And I didn't because I want to be entertained and that's what MJ Mumford's books do - they entertain.

One thing that I think she does really well is dialogue and I think this is key to her evocation of character. I like the flirtiness of Syd too. She's got a bit of spice to her and she's likeable.

So, for me, it's on to book 3 which I hope will be more of the same - a light thriller which is easy to read with a bit of love, a bit of danger and a resolution that provides satisfaction. I will say that this book ends on a great cliffhanger and so, I am keen to get started on the next one!

Rachel Rating: 4/5 stars

This review was first published on Reedsy Discovery:

My review of the first book in the trilogy can be found here:

Timeblink

And the third one is now out and can be found here:

Dragonfly

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers. If you do go on to read the book, let me know as I love to discuss books!

ReviewRecommendationFictionDiscussionAnalysis
3

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Sounds like more fun, Rachel, nicely reviewed.

  • Oh I was so afraid that it'll be too sciency but thank God it's not. I should enjoy this one as well. Awesome review! Looking forward to the 3rd book!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Another excellent review, Rachel. But I'm curious about the reasoning behind 4 out of 5 on the review. Is it because the stories fall into the category of guilty pleasure? By guilty pleasure I mean fiction that does not challenge or make us think. Sort of like watching the telly when the old mind needs a break. I have found that in the past few years I have less interest in reading serious fiction than I used to. I'm more likely to get bogged down and drag the reading out than I did say 15, 20 years ago.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.