BookClub logo

a love letter

for the book club challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
Created with NightcafeStudio

* I know I didn't choose a specific book, and I'm not sorry, lol.

~

Books saved my life. Plural. You didn't read that wrong, I don't mean I read one specific piece and had some sort of instant connection or epiphany. No the moment I was able to understand words strung together in sentences, I read ferociously. I read unapologetically. Anything I could get my hands on. I still do. And they've all meant something to me–escape.

I grew up an only child that moved a fair amount. I was too smart for my own good, and I knew my own mind from an early age. It made me different. I did what I wanted, peer pressure be damned. Not that I was completely immune to it. I fell prey to wanting the trendy shoes or the hair cut every girl had, but I often didn't get them anyway.

My family was dysfunctional and toxic. The most constant people in my life were my grandparents. And it was a time when electronics were not huge parts of life. We had basic TV channels, and I was able to watch shows here and there but that was it.

Reading was my ticket to another life. One where I wasn't lonely or scared all the time. No one could come with me. It was just me and the characters for as long as I could stay gone. They were my home, my champions, my friends.

I read so much, I was forced to reread or stay in reality. In fact, I have reread a ton in my adult life too. I love to revisit worlds that have welcomed me with open arms. There are a handful of series I've completed over ten times.

In the course of my forty-nine years, I've read thousands of books, and all of them have offered me a place free from judgement or pressure or stress. I can just be me, swept away on adventures that carry me through to the next time we meet. There is not a day that goes by that I fail to read something.

So this is a love letter to all the authors out there that keep going, keep writing, and continue to offer me sanctuary in the wonderful worlds they've decided to share. I hope to do that someday for someone else. Thank you.

Challenge

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (51)

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Very relatable 🥰

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    I thought I'd come back to say congratulations on a very well deserved top story. 👏

  • I'm Here Again, Sharing My Relations to The Sentiments Inside This Awesome 🌟 Article, Yes, My Grandmother was My Favorite ♥️💯😉✌️📝

  • Test9 months ago

    I am so glad you posted this! Beautifully written and so, so relatably on every level. Books really do offer so much escape and beauty in this often challenging world of ours 🤍

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS, my friend. This was a great response to the challenge, imo. I'd say a lot of people can relate in that it's not one particular book that changed, inspired etc. It's the the ability to escape in the words. Excellent, as always.

  • Syeda Umama10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/whispers-of-the-elements

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Whatever helps you get through to the real you matters... Thank you for this (TS indeed)!

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    This is so intuitive! I love your take on this! 😍

  • Pelontle Ditshoto10 months ago

    Very interesting

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    This is beautiful Heather!! I feel similarly! There’s not really one book that has changed me as such, it’s the holistic experience - love that. I got stuck so didn’t enter. Kudos. ..Series over ten times wow! I occasionally reread but not a lot these days. A terrific piece and I missed it earlier -AND it’s a top story - huge congrats!! ☺️👏 📚

  • Margaret S.10 months ago

    Wow, this is a great account on the power of literature. I'm so glad you were able to escape your toxic childhood and find a safe place in books.

  • Natalie Wilkinson10 months ago

    I really relate to entering other worlds as an escape. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Congrats on top story!!!

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    I always said my mom was a born teacher. By the time I was four years old, I could read and write. So could my older brother. Yes, as we grew and didn't need mom around so much, she did become a teacher and stayed at that job until her 80th birthday. Because of her teaching me at such an early age, I read, and read, and read. I read Dear and Glorious Physican when I was only ten years old I read Moby Dick in one day. I'm now 76 and baffle my husband because I have one hard covered book, one paper back and my kindle... all with different stories that I usually read during one day. I also take time to write. Guess our brains are just wired that way. Thank you for sharing that fact that I'm not alone in the world of the written word.

  • Brin J.10 months ago

    I too, found solace in books and reading when I was young. My mom didn't like us watching TV, so I had to find other ways to entertain myself. Either I'd spend my entire day outside, or I'd be in a library with my nose in a book.

  • Rosie J. Sargent10 months ago

    Felt this in soul! Congratulations on the TS 💙

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    So relatable! I spent every spare hour (and some not so spare) reading and reading and reading...

  • Amazing and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖✨👍📚

  • ANFAS10 months ago

    nice

  • Moses Ayemere10 months ago

    Wonderful am new here please check my work and subscribe thank you

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    Oh I hear you here. Even my real life is imbued with a subconscious effort to make it look more like the best imagined ones - this is not always the best thing!

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    I love that you wrote this. It is so personal and yet is so personal to me and many others too. I read books to understand the world that I live in. Always have, always will. Not sure an oddball like me would have coped without them. ❤

  • Clever&WTF10 months ago

    I feel the same. Reading is an escape, and I read every day. I can't fall asleep unless I read before bed, because stories help me to escape from the stress of the day and calm my anxious mind.

  • Sorry, not sorry. LOL. I never knew how much of a voracious reader you were until the one interview when you mentioned you read like 300 books a year. Mind blown. Even though you didn't pick just one story or book, at least you got your entry done. I haven't published mine yet because everytime I go through my mind and book stacks (yes, plural) I'm like, "Yeah, this is the one I'll write about" and then...nothing. I'll get there though :) Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Congratulations!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.