Blush logo

Make-up

An introductory Journey

By Ada ZubaPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2
Make-up
Photo by Jessica Johnston on Unsplash

Growing up my mom rarely wore make up. Every time she and my dad went out, she would wear lipstick and mascara, then that was it. My aunts I don’t think even went close to putting make up on. My older siblings were similar. It started when my oldest sister started to use make up, but it was always done lightly with not a whole lot because Sephora used to give out a product for your birthday month and that’s all her make up consisted of, my other sister would only ever wear eyeliner and that was it. I never really had a role model when it came to make up. I don’t even remember what got me interested maybe it was from watching tv shows and I saw how their make up would be done? Maybe it was from photography? Or maybe I was scrolling through Pinterest and I wanted to try something new. I have no idea what inspired me to try doing make up. I started to learn more and more, I first learned about foundation existing and then I learned that you need to put on a base layer of primer first. Then, I learned the best way to take off make up was not water…that should have been an obvious one, but again no one was there to tell me, so I decided to start looking up video tutorials on how to get better at this make up thing, for me it was never about looks though. I know, you’re thinking “but if was never about looks what was it about?” For me, it was another creative outlet no more than doing crafts. It was an art form and no I never did any crazy colors like yellow or hot pink, that just was not my style. I wanted natural, which is what the accomplishment is.

By Jade Destiny on Unsplash

Like this gorgeous lady here, she is wearing makeup, but I feel like we can probably tell. Yet, her face has all the right features accented. For me personally, I like to accent my blue eyes. The only time I truly felt that happened was on my wedding day.

By Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

My make up artist was so good at choosing the right palette for my wedding. Most make-up artists use Mac make up because of the great discount they get, but I know I can’t afford to spend that money on make up! I love using the brand colourpop for my eye palettes, but when it comes to foundation tarte cosmetics make great foundation that matches my face complexion.

The light pinks and reds really complement my skin, but then after buying this one I learned that they were making a Harry Potter eye shadow palette and I had to get it.

The two above links are just links. I am not affiliated with them, I just highly recommend their products.

Tarte cosmetics makes amazing foundation. They have different types for each different type of skin. That’s another lesson I learned it was that everyone has different types of skin and it’s important to know your skin before buying makeup. Tarte also has quizzes for the right foundation, I didn’t bother going to Sephora to see if it was true I risked it and bought some online and it was the best foundation I ever had.

Again, I am not affiliated with tarte but I recommend their products.

After buying this Selena Gomez got her own line of cosmetics named Rare Beauty and I really wanted to make it work, but it just doesn’t work with my type of skin. It was also around this time that learned about highlighter it gives you that shining glow and I love using it, I love the Rare Beauty highlighter for my face because it does not take a lot to highlight your face. What exactly is highlighter? Not too sure I just know it accents the shape of your face and it’s shimmery.

Mascara is the easiest make up hack to make your eyes pop in my opinion all the brands do the exact same thing, they all make your eyes look the same. If you want lush pie? Get fake ones.

That’s basically all my knowledge written here. I know didly squat about contouring, don’t know what it is, don’t know where to apply it. I know nothing! That’s my make up discovery journey. What’s yours?

makeupface
2

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.