Blush logo

Bad Makeup

“Oompa Loompa!”

By Melissa Tschumper Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bad Makeup
Photo by Raphael Lovaski on Unsplash

Just like any other high school teenager, I loved makeup! At that age of 16 I was starting to get into it all. Eye liner. Eye shadow. Mascara. And of course.. foundation.

Foundation was my favorite of my entire makeup routine. I remember loving the feeling of covering up the redness in my cheeks, chin and nose. I looked SO much better with makeup than without! (Now at 28 years old I could care less about wearing makeup everyday.)

In high school I was absolutely RELIGIOUS about having a tan! Tan skin was prettier than being pasty pale, right? If you had a tan, you were considered more attractive, right? Well, that was my train of thought in those days. I remember taking trips to the drug store every other week it seemed to get new makeup. As I wanted to build my tan, my makeup had to match am I right?

I picked up a new container of loose powder foundation. It was a medium toned color. I was sure it would match my current skin tone. I tried it on and all seemed well. However, it did seem a bit paler than my tan I was currently rocking everyday. I did NOT want to go back to the drugstore again and get another new container of foundation in the next color up.. I had a solution, though. I had a container of bronzing powder. “I’ll mix this into my new powder to darken it up to my shade to match!” So that’s what I did. It was the perfect color now, right?!

Wrong.

By JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

I woke up early for school just like every other day to spend that 30 minutes perfecting my “flawless” makeup. Of course I used my new powder foundation creation. I used this technique of covering up my more reddened spots of my face with a couple layers of foundation on those areas. I went over my face with my powder again.. and again.. and again. Perfect!

It was the middle of the school day. I remember I would always be checking my makeup at points throughout the day with my little compact mirror I always kept in my folder. However, I remember that I had not checked my makeup at all yet that day (I must’ve been SO confident I absolutely perfected my makeup before I left the house for school).

My classroom I was in in the middle of the day there was a full body mirror in the the storage area that my friends and I would always go to to check our outfits. So we go in as we always do. I took one look in that mirror.. and I could not believe what I saw.

My face was ORANGE! Was it the lighting in the room?! I couldn‘t figure it out. My gosh! My face was orange and my neck was white.. I was feeling so humiliated that I had been walking around school for half of the day with an orange face (ohh what people must have thought..). Naturally I did not have any makeup remover of any kind with me at school, nor did I have any different kinds of foundation with me to fix it. I flipped my sweatshirt sleeve inside out and I frantically started to rub off my foundation in hopes that would lighten it up and my face would match my neck.

It was from that point on, that I realized I needed to be doing my makeup in neutral lighting to avoid that potential embarrassment again. You live, and you learn.

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Tschumper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.