Beat logo

WJSN, Unnatural, Another Review

I Changed My Mind, I'm Sorry Unnatural

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

So recently I made a review about WJSN Unnatural, and in it I said I was conflicted about this comeback and felt it wasn’t WJSN. Now after a few more days of listening to Unnatural and watching the stages I have come to the conclusion I love this comeback.

Unnatural is a 10/10 song and all the girls get to shine in this comeback. The pre chorus is amazing and like I said before I love the outro because it feels like a grand finale. Then I love elegant and classy concepts like Unnatural. It is rich, feminine, pretty, and confident, and I love those concepts.

My main issue with this comeback is that it does not feel like a WJSN comeback, but that is the point of this comeback. It is literally called Unnatural because it is not supposed to reflect on WJSN signature sound, and it is supposed to be different from anything they have done before. Unnatural is definitely a new realm they have entered, and they do a damn good job.

WJSN has always been a group to lean into an elegant image, so they fit this concept really well and the girls are just glowing in this comeback, especially Dawon. I feel like this is her era. She just took my breath away when she appeared in the music video. WJSN has always been known to be pretty, charming, elegant, but in magical aspects but now they are showing that in a more ‘realistic’ way I guess, and it is jarring.

I think why I felt so weird about this comeback at first is because the concept was so jarring because there are no magical aspects, and the music video is so lackluster compared to WJSN other music videos, but now I really enjoy the concept. The music video is still quite boring, but WJSN fits this concept so well, but it was strange because it was such a drastic shift.

It is hard to digest as a long term fan that WJSN didn’t do their usual cosmical and whimsical concepts this time, and it was a bit jarring too because Unnatural is so different from their other title tracks. It is completely dance orientated while their past title tracks had a theatrical, fun, and epic sound to them. So no wonder Unnatural took a while for me to like, but after a few days I love this song and concept.

I still am a bit dissapointed with the music video, but WJSN fit this classy and feminine concept so well, and the song is a bop. I do have issues that it is more of a basic concept for WJSN, and it makes me sad that they left the magical concept behind this time around.

It is very basic for WJSN who had concepts like magical carnivals, outer space adventures, collecting dreams, and wizard schools. Plus it is a generic concept, but I do take back what I said about this concept blending them into the kpop scene. It appears that WJSN is gaining a lot of traction for this concept, and plus the concept is setting them apart from the popular girl crush concept. I mean you could argue Unnatural is a girl crush concept, but it has a vocal based chorus, the styling is feminie and rich, and is a bit more delicate than other girl crush concepts nowadays.

So I guess it does stick out a bit in the kpop scene, but still I miss the magical concept. I hope they bring the magical concept back in the future, because that what made me fall for WJSN in the first place, but for now I am really enjoying this new concept they are trying and Unnatural is a smash hit.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.