Beat logo

Poppy "EAT" NXT Soundtrack Review + Poppy's Growth

Poppy Is A Legend

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Oh miss Poppy. What can I say about this legend? She just keeps getting better and better with every release, and her NXT Soundtrack proves she keeps on growing into a monster of an artist.

Poppy did a performance of “EAT” at the Grammys and it was iconic, and it made me very excited. It means there was going to be more Poppy music in the near future, and I was hoping for an album but an EP is good too. More Poppy music is always good.

The performance also made me very excited because “EAT” was very different in my opinion and was the heaviest sound Poppy has done so far. She does have songs like “X”,”Blood Money” and “Scary Mask” and I love all those songs. Still it was obvious she couldn’t go full throttle yet and she held back a little. Probably because she was with that awful man that can burn in hell, if you know you know, and plus she was transitioning from satirical pop so of course Poppy could not be her full self and scream her head off. It needed it to be a soft approach to her new sound.

So she released a few rock and nu-metal songs, and then released I Disagree which is one of my favorite albums ever. It was in my top ten for albums of 2020, but I have been listening to it more and it is one of the best albums ever. No skips at all. Still, I Disagree did not go all out, and was still keeping a bit of that satirical element Poppy was known for, especially seen in Concrete where she is singing very cutely, and it did not have that epic ending I was craving for.

Then there is I Disagree (More) that push a little harder, and now with the NXT soundtrack, it feels like Poppy is taking her full form. She’s doing screamo nu-metal and is not held on a leash at all. She is also is more open about her past and her struggles like her eating disorder in the song “EAT” and letting out her frustration and anger in “Say Cheese.” Her work has become uniquely heavy, beautifully chaotic, and honest to herself.

I adore all the songs on the NXT EP. My favorite right now is probably “Dark World” because I love imagining myself marching with an army full of zombies going into battle. I don’t know why that's the image in my head when I listen to this song, but I love it. I also love the evolution of Poppy.

I have been a fan of Poppy since she released “Lowlife” in 2015, and it just amazes me how much she has grown. She went through a manipulative and abusive relationship, was pretty much controlled in the beginning of her career, and now she is fully free. Then throughout that she has made some amazing music. From Poppy.Computer to her Christmas songs like “I Like Presents” and her covers of famous songs such as “All The Things She Said” Poppy is such a talented and versatile woman, and I am glad I got to witness Poppy become the satirical internet pop princess to one of the best metal artists today.

Now with this EP, hopefully that means her next full album is around the corner, and she can have a worldtour for it so I can see her which would be amazing, a dream come true for me. Most importantly, hopefully this also means she shares with us more of her true self through her beautiful and brash music.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.