Beat logo

Trying to write a top ten

including 50 rotating songs

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
the place I miss most

One of my favourite djs, ironically on a talk station, often mentions writing a top hundred of his favourite songs . Then the plan was to make a play list, sounds like a good idea doesn't it? The answer depends on how important music is to you and how much of your life it inhabits.

For example I am listening to a random website generated play list based on what I usually listen to. Its made up from around 25 bands and the songs played the most. This is from a small period of music listening, compared to over 30 years of listening to heavy metal. I will listen to certain albums or certain bands but find it useful sometimes to let the music player choose. If you set the search to a genre rather then a band you will find new stuff among stuff you know already.

In the old days I had an internet radio app. If you told it the bands you liked it searched 100s of internet radio sites and recorded everything that was played by them. This often meant you got rarities and obscure songs. Slayer doing Born to be wild is one example.

This was good for me as Slayer has been my favourite band for over 30 years and could fill my top ten on their own. I have favourites that cover early days through to much newer bands. Slayer and Pantera to Slaughter to prevail and Meshuggah. I will listen to anything that sounds good, bands from any part of the world. A few bands that either don't record in English or rarely do. Rammstein for example are almost totally German in songs, A Depeche Mode cover and a couple of songs are the only non Germanic one.

For my top ten I will think about it at the end of this piece, at this point there are about 4 definite and about 50 maybes. As the songs are so important to me I will use a few things to decide the choice. I love live music so a Pantera or Machine head or Slayer mosh pit memory of a song might help, maybe where I heard a song or simply a band I love and need to fit a song in from them.

In fact as I wrote those 3 bands I heard songs from them in my head. Any of the bands could fill a top 20 let alone a 10. maybe I should try a top 20 of my favourite 10 bands next. I an sure many people could name their favourite 10 songs, bands, TV shows or films if they put their mind to it. It might even be a good memory exercise. In fact a few things I have posted in this website has helped with memories of places I had been and things I have done.

Films and tv is maybe for another day, equally complicated as you get older and experience more. On that note I have decided as I write this I will choose one song from 10 bands for my list. I also know by the time I finish I will probably be wondering about another 10 I didn't include. Maybe that's am excuse to write a part 2 with a new list. So here we go, my last 10 will follow. Why not try one yourself, it might bring some fond memories back.

1. Slayer- reigning blood

2. Pantera-walk

3 Machine head-Davidian

4.Meshuggah- Bleed

5.Metallica-Trapped under ice

6.Amon Amarth -raise your horns

7.Trivium-pull harder on the strings of your martyr

8.Slaughter to prevail-Bone breaker

9.Cannibal Corpse-Scourge of iron

10. Sepultura- refuse/resist

There it is and will send it before I start changing. If you like the music I do I hope you agree on some and maybe hear some new songs you didn't know. If this isn't your style maybe try one or two, you might just like them.

the only place to be

playlist
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.