Beat logo

Story of my Teenage playlist

This is not a story, this is a part of my life.

By Roy's CornerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Story of my Teenage playlist
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

What is the first song you put on as a teenager?

During my journey of deciding what to put on my teenage playlist, the song lyrics are absolutely everything.

It's going to be in the soundtrack of my teenage years - whatever it is. Maybe you want to be a guitarist, a singer, a dancer on a TV show - you need to sing.

What are the first songs that you put on as a teenager?

I put on Guns N' Roses' Sweet Child of Mine on my first car, which was a brand new, cherry-red Toyota Camry. I drove around with it for about a year. It got trashed pretty quickly - it had low mileage so it was obviously not a good purchase.

I changed the car and put on George Michael's Careless Whisper. It just made me feel good. I was driving through the dark on my way to a club when I hit it - it was one of the first songs that came on. It's still in my playlist today, because that's what you listen to when you get into the car. Anything that makes you feel happy, feel comfortable, like a kid. So it's just the right sound for that time.

Once you get to my age, you start to realise how much music has actually impacted your life - the lyrics are important. That's the first song that came out that I loved.

When I was 16 I would listen to Roxette, The Smashing Pumpkins - just a whole lot of different types of music - it's good to be able to go through it in your teenage years.

If I'm making my teenage playlist now, it's going to be very similar, with some 80s bands - Pink Floyd, Queen, Phil Collins, Blondie. It might be some acoustic stuff now, but it's going to be the music that you listen to when you're going through a teenage life. It's not going to change much. It will just sound good.

What is the last song you listen to?

I went back to New York for a night and I listened to Meghan Trainor on the car ride there. It's my last song - it's very pop, very radio friendly, but I like it. I'm going to put in an Abba song now, I'll put in Rihanna too.

I'll probably listen to Ava Max - Sweet But Psycho. It's a very uplifting song, it makes me feel good, it makes me want to dance.

That's the last song I would listen to now. If I'm on a car ride or if I'm at the gym, the last thing I would listen to is my dad.

If I was recording my teenage playlist, I would probably put in something like Dolly Parton - I'd probably put in something from the 80s, some Bob Dylan, Elvis.

I'd probably put in Stevie Nicks - I would have put in some David Bowie, Amy Winehouse and Fleetwood Mac - obviously.

What's your teenage soundtrack going to be now?

You know what I'm going to do - I'm going to put in K.D. Lang, Gwen Stefani, Prince - just my whole journey.

That's the soundtrack for my teenage life.

It's definitely still relevant, because I was 16 - I'm 30.

If I was listening to that when I was 16, I would have been listening to the Kardashians and pop music and just crappy dance music. That's what I'm listening to now - I'm listening to the top pop songs.

Music can really make you feel good, so it's great to go through a teenage life with some great music.

When you look at the artists that made that for me - people like Britney, Rihanna, the Spice Girls - that's the music that I want to listen to.

People ask me if I'm a pop fan and I say yes. I just like to listen to pop. That's the genre that makes me feel good. That's the stuff that makes me dance and sing.

I don't listen to rock, I don't listen to indie, because it just makes me feel uncomfortable.

But I like my music to sound nice, to have nice, rounded beats. If it's super harsh and beat-driven it doesn't make me feel good. I prefer my music to sound smooth, really groovy.

I love techno and I love some of the old house music from the '80s, but I don't like to just listen to one genre all the time.

The thing about music is that you hear something that you love, then it just makes you want to listen to it, you don't want to hear it for the next 20 years.

When you hear a song that you love it's good, but after that it's just crap.

Does a piece of music from your teenage soundtrack still make you feel like that?

Yeah, it does. It just makes me remember that time and that teenager that I was.

I love that genre.

I know what my teenage soundtrack is going to be - that's the last thing I'll listen to. I'm always going to be listening to it because I've come so far.

Every time I listen to that music, every time I listen to that song it makes me feel really good.

Whether it's my dad, whether it's my friends, whether it's me having a bad day, whatever.

It makes me feel a lot better.

When I listen to my teenage life, it makes me feel great, but I like to listen to something from the past, as well.

Because I'm happy with who I am now.

It makes me happy to listen to my teenage life playlist.

There's no doubt about it, I'm very proud of myself - to be a 30-year-old and still be that teenager.

90s music
2

About the Creator

Roy's Corner

I am a teacher & an amateur writer. I want create good content for my readers. Stay with me & encourage me to write well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.