Beat logo

Spotify Wrapped 2023

To all my Spotify listeners.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
23
Spotify Wrapped 2023
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

Y'all it's that time of year, anticipated by many a Spotify user. Wrapped first started in 2016, although a less developed version "Year in Music" had been premiered the year before. Wrapped gives users a look at the music they listen to from January 1st to October 31st, which, at least for me, is usually a moment to be surprised (or not).

So let's get started and see what Spotify has to say about my year (10 months to be honest) in music.

"2023 was a feast for your ears." I listen to 24 different genres. My top genres were Broadway, Pop, Movie tunes, Alt Z, and Singer-Songwriter Pop.

By Mike on Unsplash

"This year, your listening took you places and one place listened just like you." Provo, Utah, USA. I had to look up which state Provo was in since Spotify didn't really specify. But apparently, the Provolonen (I know, it's pretty cheesy) citizens are more likely to be fans of Lawrence (a brother and sister pop-soul duo), Jorge Rivera-Herrans (the creative mind behind the popular Odyssey-inspired musical, EPIC), and EPIC Ensemble (that I think is self-explanatory).

"You played 1,737 songs in 2023. (I'm pretty sure this would more if I didn't leave songs and playlists on repeat.) And there was one that *really* connected." My top song was Friends on the Other Side (Disney Villain Mash-Up) by Thomas Sanders (and friends). Ohhhhh, I love this song!!! As if I couldn't tell by the fact I played 69 times, starting on February 20. If Thomas Sanders seems familiar, he was quite popular on Vine.

And now I will corrupt you.

But of course, there is always room in my heart for more than one favorite.

2. Polyphemus by Jorge Rivera-Herrans

3. Just a Man by Jorge Rivera-Heranns, EPIC Ensemble

4. The Horse and the Infant by Jorge Rivera-Herrans, Luke Holt, EPIC Ensemble

5. I Want More - From the Paramount+ Series 'Grease: Rise of the Pink Ladies' by Marisa Davila, The Cast of Grease: Rise of the Pink Ladies

Yeah, I'm definitely not addicted to Broadway adjacent and musicals. Also, Spotify was nice enough to create a playlist of my top songs for the year.

"Time is a construct, but we kept track anyway." I listened to music on Spotify for 15,555 minutes, which is 259.25 hours, a little bit less than 11 days. My peak was on August 24 (Thursday) at 401 minutes (over six-and-a-half hours). Apparently, this placed me at the top 24% of listeners worldwide. Cool.

By Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

"You listened to 1,036 artists this year, but one came out on top." Why do I feel it has something to do with EPIC? Yep, I was right; Jorge Rivera-Herrans was my top artist of the year. I spent 782 minutes (just over 13 hours) listening to him, putting me as a top 3% fan. Couldn't get enough of the song Polyphemus from EPIC: The Cyclops Saga.

My top artists of the year:

1. Jorge Rivera-Herrans with my peak listening month being January, which just happens to be when he released the second saga of EPIC

2. Alessia Cara with my peak listening month being February

3. The Glee Cast with my peak listening month being March

4. Lawrence with my peak listening month being January

5. Annapantsu with my peak listening month being February

It was at this point it cut to a video from one of the artists on my top list, Lawrence, thanking whomever was watching, me!, for being a huge supporter.

"One moment please. We're turning off the lights." Cue the black screen. "That's better. The way you listened this year makes you a hero, or maybe we should say...anti-hero?" I'm not entirely sure what they are talking about here. Spotify then labeled me a vampire listener, "when it comes to your listening, you like to embrace a little...darkeness. You listen to emotional, atmospheric music more than most." That's pretty accurate.

And with that, we are finished with my 2023 Spotify Wrapped.

By Jakob Owens on Unsplash

But, how about you, my fellow Spotify users who are writing away on Vocal+? What does your Spotify Wrapped look like this year? Let us know either in the comments, or with your stories.

popquoteslistindustryhumanityfeaturebands
23

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Wow, you listen to a lot of artists! Nice.

  • Patric5 months ago

    I love Spotify

  • Durga Chikh5 months ago

    Well done

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    Thanks for putting this up. I don't mind a bit of musical stuff, but it's not my go-to on Spotify. You have inspired me to comment on my own Wrapped 2023. Congratulations on top story, I'm very glad I read it.

  • Margaret Brennan5 months ago

    very enlightening. congratulations on TS. love it.

  • Ruby Red5 months ago

    Yes Thomas Sanders is a familiar artist for me too! I love his cover of the song "Trying too Hard"...maybe because it has heaps to do with the Sanders Sides! Nice to finally find another Fander <3 I can't wait to see which songs are at the top for me - I reckon Candy Store from Heathers is up there, right next to anything from Hamilton! :)

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Well done!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Mine just popped up as well. it was interesting. I'm at the top 20% and honestly do not know if that means rarely listen or always listen scale ( you know you in the top 1% group) I was shocked at who my number one artist is considering I listen to him but dont recall playing him all that often. Congratulations

  • Good article, but Spotify and most other streaming platforms disgust me. They are all about money and not about music. They just have a back catalogue they sell to consumers. If no new music were produced Spotify would be fine coz everyone would go on playing Beatles and Elvis and the like. As I say your article is excellent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.