Beat logo

Rate-O-Rama: Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours)

Songmania: Edition #6

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 7 months ago β€’ Updated 7 months ago β€’ 4 min read
13
Stevie Wonder, Peter Frampton, Blue

New Information on Rate-O-Rama please keep scrolling down to see New on Rate-O-Rama. πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Rate-O-Rama : Songmania is a reader participation game.

About once a week I will publish a Rate-O-Rama article which will feature three versions of a popular song.

The object is to listen to each of the music videos provided within the post.

After listening to each video you can rate each song in the comments section below.

(You must be a member to comment. If you are not a member you can join Vocal Media for FREE. You don’t ever have to pay for membership unless you choose to upgrade your membership)

The rating method is easy. Simply give each song a rating of 1 to 100.

(The more you like the song the higher the rating).

If possible, please provide a brief comment explaining the reasoning behind your ratings for each song.

After a week or so I will tally the ratings and in the next Rate-O-Rama post I will announce the winner from the previous post.

The winners will be determined on a scale of averages.

If you wish to receive a notice when the next Rate-O-Rama post is published please mention that you would like a notification in the comments section.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž NEW on RATE-O-RAMA:

I am taking my Rate-O-Rama series to the next level. At the end of each month I will do a raffle in which the winner will win a $5.00 tip.

To enter all you have to do is participate in playing the Rate-O-Rama game. Since R-O-R is updated every Sunday night in order to qualify you must play the game during it's initial seven day period with Sunday evening being the cutoff period.

For each game you play you will receive a ticket for the raffle. Therefore if you play all four games in the month you will have four chances to win.

The winner will not only win the $5 prize but I will feature you Vocal Profile on Vocal + Assist on both Facebook and Discord and you will be featured in the first R-O-R game of the month after your win.

Note: if you have already participated in September your name will be added retroactively.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Last week we featured the Beatles classic "Come Together" as recorded by The Beatles (1969), Ike and Tina Turner (1969), and Aerosmith (1978).

The following are the average ratings for each song as resulted from the votes:

The Beatles = 96.5 πŸ₯‡

Ike and Tina Turner = 80.6 πŸ₯‰

Aerosmith = 83.5 πŸ₯ˆ

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

The Sixth Edition of Rate-O-Rama features three renditions of the funk and soul classic: "Signed, sealed, delivered (I'm Yours)."

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Stevie Wonder (1970)

This is one of Stevie Wonder's most famous songs having made it to #3 in the US, #15 in the UK, and #19 in Canada. He co-wrote it with three other people, one being his mom Lula Mae Hardaway, another his then fiancΓ© Syreeta Wright and singer/songwriter Lee Garrett. It was the first single Stevie produced on his own, he was only 19 years old and did a great job at the helm of the song.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Peter Frampton (1977) Shortly after his major success with his live album Frampton Comes Alive he followed up with another successful album I'm In You of which the title track was a worldwide hit making it to #2 in the US and #1 in Canada. Frampton's cover of "Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours)" followed and continued the string of hits for Frampton and made it to #18 in the US and #13 in Canada. Mick Jagger is featured on backing vocals.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Blue (2003)

The English boy band named Blue included vocals by R&B singer Angie Stone and the legendary Stevie Wonder on their recording of the song. Their rendition was a huge hit all throughout Europe, Australia and New Zealand. The song, however, did not chart in the US.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

My Thoughts

Stevie Wonder: The man is a legend. There's no two ways about it. I love the punchy funk soul energy of this song and that bass line is killer. This one is 100 all the way.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Blue: I can honestly say that I don't love this rendition but I do like it. Angie Stone and Stevie Wonder both gave stellar vocal performances. While the guys in Blue are all competent singers they just don't do it for me. The musical arrangement is tight but lacks the personality of Stevie's original. I give the song a 65 but because of Angie Stone and Stevie Wonder I will bump it up to 72.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Peter Frampton: I was a somewhat Peter Frampton fan in the late 1970s. I even had my hair styled like his in '78. But seriously Frampton did a more than reputable job with this song and his guitar work is a highlight. 89

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

I will be back next week with the results of this Rate-O-Rama Edition.

Last Week's Rate-O-Rama:

With Love, RHC ❀️

song reviewspophistoryfeaturecountrybassbands70s music
13

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Rene Peters7 months ago

    Stevie Wonder - 100, it was a catchy beat and the original so obviously it's the best Peter Frampton - 25, it sounded too jazzy and I wasn't a fan Blue - 0, I don't like the sound of that version at all. Couldn't even get myself to finish it.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Well, well... Where to start, lol. Stevie's version still does it for me. It feels good, like a mood lifter. I didn't care for Peter Frampton's version. I thought he could have done so much more with it but appreciate the effort. Boy bands πŸ˜‚. Geez! I can never grasp the concept but over the years these kinds of band have cranked out some hits. This version came as a surprise to me. I liked how they slowed it down, it gave it a new fresh vibe. The vocals were great as well. Stevie - 100 Pete - 50 Blue - 88

  • I really like Angie’s voice that’s why they get my first nod Blue 100 and of course Stevie is second and have to give him a 100 too because he’s a legend and Peter you’ve got some great songs but I’m just not a fan 96

  • Stevie Wonder: 70 Peter Frampton: 70 Blue: 90 Only Blue's version seemed to match my tastw of music, lol!

  • Scott Christenson7 months ago

    Signed,Sealed,Delivered made an appearance in one of the best Carpool Karaoke episodes ever! https://youtu.be/qqrvm2XDvpQ?si=QPktlSuXbC0YEWWa&t=425

  • Scott Christenson7 months ago

    Stevie Wonder: 95. Could be higher, but I'll give it a 95 on the back of Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing being my favorite Stevie Wonder song right now. Peter Frampton: 85 Good version, I enjoyed it. Blue.: 90 This is the version I'd most like to hear at a fun party on a Friday night. If ever looking for song ideas, I heard a lovely cover of Danny's Song by Kenny Loggins at that famous chain coffee shop a few months ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gg3C8rf0xcY https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9D7ultFfoiM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-MWU-bIvu4

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Steve Wonder 98. I do remember this one so well. I can hear it in my mind. It's going to be playing in my mind all day. While Peter receives an 88, Blue gets a 78!!!

  • You still have Tina from last week rather than Blue from this week... Which is my favorite. Yes, I'm a sucker for broad, popular, celebrative collaborations. This one has such a delightfully full & rich sound--& you still get Stevie with a fantastically mature voice (& we got to see him perform instead of simply looking at an album cover). That it didn't chart in the U.S. makes me almost as ashamed as our choices in the 2016 presidential election. 100 (If I could rate it higher, I would.) Stevie Wonder - 99 (Docked one point just for the slightly tinny sound of the recording. Nostalgia is good, though, & it's still Stevie.) Peter Frampton - 89 (Nicely done cover, but next to the other two it pales in comparison.)

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    You have Tina & Ike instead of Blue.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    I am similar to Donna! Loved the OG (tempo and groove are just infectious and a jam!), but Blue was a good cover, more sensual, slower, but still groovy. Frampton was good, but a bit soulless for me. I liked it, but got bored halfway thru. Stevie: 100 Frampton: 75 Blue: 98

  • D. A. Ratliff7 months ago

    Stevie Wonder.... 100. There are too many amazing hits to list!! He is a master! Peter Frampton..... 85 "Baby, I Love Your Way" Gorgeous, and other great songs as well. Blue... 75 I had heard of them but really not familiar with their music. Listened to a couple of songs. Not bad for a boy band, and like "One Love" and "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word' with Elton John.

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    100 - just perfect! The one that gets stuck in my head! 80- (just wasn’t feelin it!) 99 - oooooh this one was fun and I liked the boy band vibes 😁

  • Ahamed Thousif7 months ago

    Well written Rick Henry Christopher... Thanks for sharing

  • Ahamed Thousif7 months ago

    My rating is 91/100

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    100 95 88

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I like all 3 versions! I was actually just on YouTube trying to figure out what to play! Thanks for the songs!

  • More great choices! I had never heard the other two versions of this so I particularly enjoyed this ❀️ I wholeheartedly agree that Stevie is number one!!! His energy is off the charts… This is a song that never fails to lift my mood πŸ‘Œβœ¨ 100 for sure! Peter - this is an okay version…. But not particularly special- I’ll give him a 78 Blue and Angie - this was surprisingly great!!! Great vocals and energy… felt like a new song. I would give them a 98. Thanks Rick! 🌈✨🌈✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.