Beat logo

Rate-O-Rama: Come Together

Songmania #5 Beatles, Ike & Tina Turner, Aerosmith

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 4 min read
11

New Information on Rate-O-Rama please keep scrolling down to see New on Rate-O-Rama. πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Rate-O-Rama : Songmania is a reader participation game.

About once a week I will publish a Rate-O-Rama article which will feature three versions of a popular song.

The object is to listen to each of the music videos provided within the post.

After listening to each video you can rate each song in the comments section below.

(You must be a member to comment. If you are not a member you can join Vocal Media for FREE. You don’t ever have to pay for membership unless you choose to upgrade your membership)

The rating method is easy. Simply give each song a rating of 1 to 100.

(The more you like the song the higher the rating).

If possible, please provide a brief comment explaining the reasoning behind your ratings for each song.

After a week or so I will tally the ratings and in the next Rate-O-Rama post I will announce the winner from the previous post.

The winners will be determined on a scale of averages.

If you wish to receive a notice when the next Rate-O-Rama post is published please mention that you would like a notification in the comments section.

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž NEW on RATE-O-RAMA:

I am taking my Rate-O-Rama series to the next level. At the end of each month I will do a raffle in which the winner will win a $5.00 tip.

To enter all you have to do is participate in playing the Rate-O-Rama game. Since R-O-R is updated every Sunday night in order to qualify you must play the game during it's initial seven day period with Sunday evening being the cutoff period.

For each game you play you will receive a ticket for the raffle. Therefore if you play all four games in the month you will have four chances to win.

The winner will not only win the $5 prize but I will feature you Vocal Profile on Vocal + Assist on both Facebook and Discord and you will be featured in the first R-O-R game of the month after your win.

Note: if you have already participated in September your name will be added retroactively.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Last week we featured the classic jazz cut "This Masquerade" as recorded by Leon Russell (1972), Carpenters (1973), and George Benson (1976).

The following are the average ratings for each song as resulted from the votes:

Leon Russell = 87.4

Carpenters = 92.8

George Benson = 89.5

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

The Fifth Edition of Rate-O-Rama features three renditions of the Beatles' rock classic: "Come Together."

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

The Beatles (1969)

From their last album Abbey Road. In October 1969 the song was released as a double A-Side single coupled with "Something" which zoomed to #1 in the US and #4 in the UK.

Based on the 1956 single "You Can't Catch Me" by American guitarist Chuck Berry, slightly altering Berry's original lyric of "Here come a flattop / He was movin' up with me" to "Here come ol' flattop / He come groovin' up slowly". The decidedly hard rock tune with a slower tempo was written by John Lennon but credited as John Lennon and Paul McCartney. The recording features blended backing vocals by John Lennon and Paul McCartney and dubbed guitar parts by John Lennon and George Harrison giving it a "big sound."

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Ike and Tina Turner (1969) took this rocker and turned it into a scorching R&B rocker as only Tina Turner can sing them. Ike and Tina recorded the song due to the public response to their live performances. The song made it to #57 on Billboard's Hot 100 Singles in the US and #21 on the US R&B chart.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Aerosmith (1978)

This hard rocking rendition of the song was recorded for the 1978 film Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band which starred Peter Frampton and the Bee Gees. The song was an instant hit receiving heavy rotation on FM radio stations and peaked at #23 on the US Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. A fair amount of people have claimed they prefer Aerosmith's recording over The Beatles.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

My Thoughts

The Beatles: The Beatles are among my most favorite bands of all-time and "Come Together" is one of my favorite Beatles songs. John Lennon's lead vocal is great (it's no secret John is my fave Beatle). John and Paul's blended backing vocals are electrifying. The handclaps add a nice touch. George Harrison's lead guitar and his solos make the song pop and hit you where it counts. This one is a solid 100.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Ike and Tina Turner: This one is all about Tina Turner's fantastic raw rocking vocal. She had so much energy and verve in her delivery. Ike's arrangement was almost a carbon copy of The Beatles executed with a degree of finesse but really nowhere close to the quality of musicianship as The Beatles. This one gets an 88 with a big push from Tina's performance.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Aerosmith: A lot of people I know have said they prefer this rendition. Steven Tyler's lead vocal and Joe Perry's chunky guitar solo are worthy highlights of the song. But John Lennon and Paul McCartney's blended backing vocals on the original are hard to top. Plus Aerosmith's arrangement is almost identical to the Beatles. That aside, Aerosmith's rendition is more than competent. I give it 92.

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

I will be back next week with the results of this Rate-O-Rama Edition.

Last Week's Rate-O-Rama:

With Love, RHC ❀️

rocksong reviewspophistoryfeaturebands70s music60s music
11

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    For me I think it would be Aerosmith 100 The vocals and beat were great Beatles 95 I like how the music builds into the chorus but stays Mellow on the verses Tina Turner 80 Love her vocals, not a huge fan of the beat

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    I love the Beatles version, which is the first I ever heard. So I would give them a solid 100. But boy, oh boy, does Tina rock it! 90. Aerosmith does a great job too, but it's the weakest version of the three. 80.

  • Test8 months ago

    Definitely 100 for the Beatles, with an amazing song and arrangement and depth of performance. The other 2 I put at 80. They didn't do much to innovate around the arrangement, so it just felt like karaoke to me.πŸ’™Anneliese

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Wow, this is a little difficult, Rick! I can see why you chose these covers, as they each take an aspect if the original and make it the center. I like Tina’s version because of the pace and overall soul/grit; the β€œshh” in it was a bit annoying though, and I did get a little bored halfway thru. Aerosmith’s is much more my speed, really. I was dancing to it, it’s a bit faster I think, and I really like the sound of the vocals. It fit the tone of the song better, I think. I’ve often felt confused about what the song is about, and Aerosmith’s version helped me get it. Obviously The Beatles is iconic. But I get a little bit of creep listening to their version. Here’s my scores: The Beatles: 91 Tina: 80 Aerosmith: 99 Yeah, in terms of my overall enjoyment of the songs, not necessarily their specific elements and effectiveness in an objective sense, I think these number reflect accurately.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Beatles 90 cause I like their beat better than the other two and several singers singing the song. Tina Turner 89 I like her voice but the song calls for a few more voices in the sing the song, Come together. Aerosmith 85 cause the beat was a little faster , like I said it’s nice for this song to be sang especially the chorus with several singers

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    Beatles 100 Ike and Tina 25 Aerosmith 15 Sorry but I find the 2 covers to fall into the uncanny valley for me. Too similar to the original, but slightly different enough, they brought intense ringing pain to my ears. And, I do like many songs from both Tina Turner and Aerosmith. Some other covers from YouTube I found interesting: Come Together - Jennel Garcia acoustic cover A modern acoustical rendition I enjoyed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaVLuB5WHJY Godsmack - Come Together Very true to the energy and rhythm of the original: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPi-MOxR0l4

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I really like them all, almost equally! Tina's version was in a different key which also worked for me. I did really enjoy Aerosmith's version. It had the most substance in my opinion. Beatles- 88 Tina- 85 Aerosmith- 89

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Beatles 99 Ike and Tina ehhhhh let’s go 83 Aerosmith 75 😁😁

  • Test8 months ago

    The beatles: 100 Ike and Tina: 80 Aerosmith: 90

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    This was fabulous & fun Cousin! The Beatles 99 Tina & Ike 95 Aerosmith 94

  • D. A. Ratliff8 months ago

    The Beatles - 100 Ike & Tina Turner - 80 (Tina about 70 pts of that duo) Aerosmith - 70 I am a Beatles fan. They changed music and left us with melodies that will dance in our heads for eons to come. Ike and Tina - Tina is soul, a classic icon on her own but together they gave us "Proud Mary" and "River Deep - Mountain High." Aerosmith - Was not a fan of heavy metal when it was popular, but for whatever reason, years past college, I have a new appreciation of it. I think there are better bands than Aerosmith but "Dream On" is amazing.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Definitely the Beatles - 100 Ike & Tina - 90 Aerosmith - 95

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    The beatles: 91 Ike and Tina: 85 Aerosmith: 100

  • The Beatles: 90 Ike and Tina Turner: 60 Aerosmith: 60 There was this particular part that I liked in this song and the best version of that part was The Beatles. The other two murdered my favourite part, lol!

  • Beatles - 97 Aerosmith - 98 Ike & Tina - 85 (loses 10 points for ethical reasons. I can’t get behind anything with this violent abusers name of it!)

  • Beatles - 100 (c'mon, it's the Beatles) Ike & Tina - 95 (you're right, this mostly about Tina, but then, which of their songs aren't--& it's Tina) Aerosmith - 97 (such a significant part of my growing up years, rich sound, channeling the original extremely well)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.