Beat logo

Playlist to Soothe

Hashtag Mood

By Nicheal GadsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Playlist to Soothe
Photo by Hanna Balan on Unsplash

I first want to start by saying that I don't typically make playlists. Thankfully I have the lovely Spotify to do that for me. If I were to make my own playlist it would be a mix of different genres and songs that do not go well together. Whenever I attempted to "DJ" my friends would either say "ooh what's this song? or "what the hell are we listening to?" So my dreams of being a DJ were crushed. So I just stick to liking songs and letting Spotify categorize songs for me. But once in a while I will find songs that I have to listen to back to back to put me in a mood. There are days where I have to reset my mind before work or when I get home to put myself back in a peaceful mindset. The following songs listed below always help me do that.

1. Hold on- The Internet

This song is so relaxing from beginning to end. It starts off with a slow beat of bass and then soft piano keys. The lead singer Sid's voice is absolutely beautiful and mesmerizing on this track. If you want to get into an even deeper concentration listen to the slowed and reverb version.

2. In this Shirt- The Irrepressibles

I discover most of my cinematic scores or zen songs through movies. I heard this song in the film "A Long Way Down". The film is about 4 people meet and form a family to help support eachother during the difficult times of their life. This song plays towards the end of the film and it fits perfectly. The Royksopp remix is also amazing.

3. Locket- Crumb

My cousin introduced me to this song. This song is so relaxing and the visuals are incredibly trippy in such a good way. The lead singer has a voice that will hypnotize you into getting into bed and doing nothing...and not feeling bad about it. Sometimes I'll catch myself swaying to this song while I'm waiting in the train station or walking home.

4. To Build A Home- The Cinematic Orchestra

This song played after I ran out of cinematic scores on my Spotify playlist. Spotify will suggest songs or a playlist based on songs that you were listening to. This song played and the combination of the piano and the vocals just made me stop. The lyrics "I will build a home, for you, for me" hit me and I started to cry. But a good cry. I also heard the song again during the extra episode of Schitt's Creek. Water works all over again, but happy cries. I always appreciate a good cry. I love Schitt's Creek, a show that always gives me a good cry.

5. The Comedown- Henry Jackman

This is from the film "Cherry" starring Tom Holland. The film is currently streaming on Apple Tv. I encourage everyone to see this film. It's beautiful and the scenes where this song plays adds so much to it. You can enjoy the song on it's own, but there are so many feels that you will get from having seen the film. I will admit that I attempted to watch this film towards bed time and of course I fell asleep during because I was exhausted. But I woke up to the final scene of the film and I heard this song playing. I said woah this is beautiful, I have to watch this movie beginning to end, and I'm so glad I did.

That was my "playlist". I hope you enjoyed some of my suggestions. Please feel free to like or tip. <3

playlist

About the Creator

Nicheal Gadson

Born and raised New Yorker. My life is a story and I intend to be my own author. Tales from the subway, convos in the local bodega, and adventures of an anxious actor. I’m here to share, read, and interact with other writers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicheal GadsonWritten by Nicheal Gadson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.