Beat logo

My Melodic Milestone Playlist Part I - A to M

This is for the "Melodic Milestone Playlist" Vocal Challenge.

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
9
Me In The Middle With Spoon At The Archer

Introduction

This was inspired by a Medium story by Jasmine Aguilar, which was a list of alphabetical eighties songs. The link is only for paying Medium members and is here.

So I am going to do two more playlists "A to M" and then "N to Z" and take things that happened to me that relate to those songs.

The times are likely to be all over the place and I will not repeat any that I have already shared.

This is for the "Melodic Milestone Playlist" Vocal Challenge which you can read about below.

The Prompt

Create a personalized soundtrack to your life.

Alison - Elvis Costello and the Attractions

1977 was the big bang of UK Punk but I saw Elvis Costello on, I think, Granada Reports introduced by Tony Wilson, it was just him and his electric guitar, with this stunning song of lost love. Yeah he looked like a geek with his Buddy Holly glasses but I had to have that song and also bought "My Aim Is True". This was around the time that The Bok was formed, but we didn't play any Elvis Costello songs, they were the realm of real musicians.

Beat On The Brat - The Ramones

The Ramones songs sound simple but they are perfectly constructed and executed. I think we may have played "Sheena Is A Punk Rocker" live but it was around 1977 so my memory is a bit foggy.

Come On - Chuck Berry / The Rolling Stones

Sometime in the early seventies, I played in two bands and I played and sang this in both of them. The first was a rock and roll band, can't remember the name, and the second was Cyrus Teed.

This was great because it was so simple so I could play, sing and play a solo as well.

Don't Fear The Reaper - Blue Öyster Cult

I have included the Blue Öyster Cult in a few playlists but not included their most famous song. We played this in a band called the Pink Bananas (name cadged from the cover of the first Velvet Underground cover) who predated Spoon (the Geordie version). I loved this album and how it's name was taken from a description of a pack of cards being the 52 Agents of Fortune.

Every Breath You Take - The Police

Another one we covered in The Pink Bananas, one of the creepiest songs ever.

Freakin' Out by Graham Coxon

I sang this with Spoon and forgot the first line, and it was recorded!! The crowd didn't notice and the recording doesn't sound bad, but it isn't up on YouTube yet.

Girl From Mars by Ash

We played this with Spoon at the Archer. It was a favourite of my friend Miranda though Chris sang it. Ash are also my daughter Juliet's favourite band so this is a bit special.

Happy by The Rolling Stones

I think this is my favourite Rolling Stones song and after reading Keith Richard's biography it seemed a lot simpler to play than I thought it would be. Below is my ropey version, above is the real thing from "Exile on Main Street".

Inside by Stiltskin

We covered this while playing at The Bridge in Newcastle. A most excellent riff indeed.

Jump by Van Halen

Not one I ever played but loved the synthesisers and saw Spoon drummer Steve Kirby playing this with his other band in Felling one night so that's why it gets in.

Kill - Alberto Y Los Trios Paranoias

This was from their "Snuff Rock" musical which I saw at Drury Lane and it is one we considered with The Bok but I am not sure if we ever played it.

Li'l Devil by The Cult

I always thought the studio version of this was lame, then I heard a stunning live version of it which I played to Chris Ball our guitarist, and it became a Spoon staple, so you get to hear me sing once more.

As we are on "L" I will include my take on Neil Young's "Love Is A Rose". I had lost the use of my left hand, a heart condition was suspected but it turned out to be a trapped nerve. After the op, I recorded this as part of my rehabilitation. My little finger is still a bit fuzzy but it's a damned sight better than it was.

Mad Alice Lane by Lawlor

I will close part one of this playlist with a superb piece of music which lots of people wanted to know about and the composer actually commented with the full story on the video. Below is the Vocal story about it.

Conclusion

This is the end of part one. Part two continues here

bandssong reviewsplaylist90s music80s music70s music
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Really neat idea that you borrowed from someone, but executed so well. Great song choices!

  • Wonderful playlist. Loved getting to hear & watch you play.

  • Abby Kay Mendonca12 months ago

    Iconic bands/artists. Still, some of the songs are new to me. A couple are definitely not! Great part 1. I read part 2 before coming here!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Good list. Well done, Mike.

  • Jasmine Aguilar12 months ago

    Great playlist! Fear the Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult is a great song! Every Breath You Take by The Police is creepy once you pay attention to the lyrics. I do like quite a few songs by The Police.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Solid playlist for the challenge.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Who needs Pandora? Great playlist !

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.