Beat logo

Music of Life

Songs that make me

By Aiero HansonPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Music of Life
Photo by Marius Masalar on Unsplash

Music is one of those universal languages that can instantly be understood by anyone. Sure, there's many different genres, different messages, rhythms, and instruments, but we immediatly know that a song means something special to someone.

To me, music has always been a way to connect to people around myself. Be it new friends from a night out, old friends showing off a new band they found, or keeping the memories of family that have passed on. One other major aspect of music, is how it helped me discover myself.

Be Wherever You Are - Zach Callison (Steven Universe) is one such song that has helped me become more myself. It focuses heavy on taking a step back and just seeing the world from where you are at that time. Now, coming from a tv show, it's a song you'd expect to have a deeper, more important message because it helps drive the plot of that episode. It wasn't until a rougher part of my life that I was able to really appreciate what they were saying at that time. If ypu take some time to realize you're in such a bigger world, it becomes really easy to humble your problems and overcome challenges. It's not as easy for things to hold you back if you just let yourself be just that, yourself.

Estrella Sombre Ella - Johannes Linstead is a fairly new edition to my playlists. It came up on one of my most recent dates. After a movie, we sat in a parking lot and chatted with music in the background. I had met the person the day before and we were talking and they played the song and it was just captivating at the time. The simple sounds paired with the atmosphere of the night just really solidified the attachment I have to this song, and alwasy brings me back to one of the best nights of my life. This person is still in my every day to day life, and we continue to bond over music.

Livin' On a Prayer - Bon Jovi was one of my grandpa's favorite songs. Bon Jovi, Santana, Red Hot Chilli Peppers are all music groups I replay every now and then to keep the memories and the spirit of him alive. He passed a little after my 13th birthday, and having been born on his birthday and sharing that with him...it really hurt when I had to celebrate alone. Those songs sometimes feel like all I have left of my time with him, and they'll always have a special place in my heart. I don't know what I'd do without that music, without being able to keep a part of who he was with me.

Careless Whisper - George Michaael never stops playing when I'm around my brothers. We often bond over shows, video games, a passion for cooking, or just hanging out. The minute this song plays, we all stop what we're doing and sing along wihtout missing a beat. Being that we all share quite a few common intrests already, it's really no surprise we have a similar taste in music. That's just one of the most magical things about songs, they'll unite people no matter what.

Honky Tonk Badonkadonk - Trace Adkins has got to be one of the sillier songs on this list. It has a bit of a country twang to it and is a really upbeat and dancey song overall. On a trip to San Fransisco with a friend, we had purchased cowboy hats as a little suvenier. We were listening to spotify while taking pictures of our hats in a park and this song started playing. We thought the timimg was pretty funny, and danced along while laughing.

Although I can go on and on about the different songs in my playlist of about 300 songs, these are just a few that stand out above the rest. Many memories are made to these melodies, and I'm definately hoping many more can be made in the future. I'm not stopping my musical experience at just my one playlist, however. I am constantly looking to expand on what songs I know, what they mean, and how they affect people. There's so many sounds in the world, it would be a shame to limit yourself to the ones you're familiar with. Don't be afraid to listen to something new.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.