Poets logo

Where Birds Sing

Finding Comfort Where You Are

By Aiero HansonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Where Birds Sing
Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

When sun shines through a window early in the morning,

And a fresh pot of coffee brews and fills the house with a smell of a Columbian roast,

Whistling song birds sing from their nests, that's where I find my comfort.

I don't need a vast field of flowers with fireflies illuminating our smiles.

I don't need a view where I can see for miles.

Slippers, robes, and a movie on a rainy night,

It's sure to calm my nerves just right.

I don't need to see new sights, or take expensive flights.

I just need you to hold my hands, while we listen to our favorite bands.

Let's not take a trip in our car, let's find our comfort where we are.

No candle light restaurants, no fancy meals

Just a subtle glow of a TV screen, to me it sounds like a deal.

No picnics under the stars, let's just find comfort where we are

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    A sweet parable of comforts. Good work!

  • Kris Griffith2 years ago

    To know comfort in the moment is a trait worth having!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.