Beat logo

Music and Mood

Your #1 Playlist

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 3 min read
4

I had a thought the other day about music and decided to write about it today. I listen to music every day, pretty much all day. I have music on in the car, I have music on at my desk while working, I have music on when I'm cleaning at home, and when I'm at the gym. I have music on getting ready to go out, and I have music on when I'm taking my bubble bath. Now, depending on my mood depends on my music. In the car and at my desk I listen to a local radio station, Play 92.1 FM. They play throwbacks from the '90s and early 2000s. This music pumps me up! It reminds me of simpler times in high school. Memories with my classmates, and being at night clubs in my early 20's. When I'm cleaning I listen to the same type of music, only I use YouTube playlists on my TV. At the gym, I listen to old-school R&B/ Hip Hop from 90's early 2000's, but only if I'm using the gym's speakers and Spotify. If I'm listening to my iPod, it's Country. I know weird right? While taking in some self-care I listen to spa music or instrumental. I have a special "Bath Time" playlist on my iTunes.

Sometimes I'll hear a song and it reminds me of a movie. For example, you hear "Time of your life". Well Duh! Dirty Dancing. The movie always has music to set the mood. Music indicates suspense, drama, excitement, sad moments, and happy moments. Imagine movies not having music at all. Wait! Let's not go there. That's an awful thought.

I have all sorts of playlists as well. I have a playlist called, "When you're blue". All uplifting songs, including Disney. Have you ever been sad or angry, and just belt out "Let it Go" from Frozen? You should try it. It changes a person, haha! Speaking of Disney, I also have a Disney playlist.

I even have a playlist for when I'm angry. For some reason, there is a lot of country on it, haha!

My autistic daughter, Haylee receives musical therapy at school. Musical Therapy is used for facilitating movement and overall physical rehabilitation. It's motivating and can provide emotional support. Provides an outlet for the expression of feelings. This is pretty much what I have been writing about this entire post. Music touches all aspects of the mind, body, brain, and behaviour. For Haylee, we can not play any slow, emotional songs around her. She will cry, and start to hit herself. So we keep it upbeat when she's home. Songs that have certain movements are always a happy time. For example, "Skinny Marinky Dinky Do". Don't lie, now you wanna do the actions to that song. Go for it!

Music is also an expressive language of culture. Music can tell a story, express emotion, or share ideas with society. For example, in WWII big band music was played to express patriotism. Each culture can agree that music is an important part of life. Each Country after all has their own anthem. Music unites us, and we can relate to others who are different than ourselves.

We play music at weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, sporting events, and the list goes on.

There are no boundaries or limitations to music. I say, "Turn it up!" Express yourself through music. You always hear on reality/talent shows that music changed their lives. It helped with bulling or getting out of an addiction. Some type of rough time in their life. So get those emotions out that are weighing you down. Let it go! (Pun intended). So, I want to know. What are you listening to today?

playlist
4

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.