Beat logo

Spooky Tunes V1 By DJ Missy

Halloween music for every witch and goblin

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
10

The Spookiest time of the year is finally here! So naturally, this means it's time to monster mash. But, of course, you might have already started brewing a few witchy cocktails, preparing the gooiest snacks, and making treat bags for the trick or treaters. But to set the spirit, you'll need a goblin-approved playlist. Lucky for you, I am here to help! So, let's get the party started.

Music sets the mood; we all know this. And Halloween music sets the mood for the spookiest night of the year. Some of it is downright terrifying, like the Halloween theme song, which will freak me out until the end of my days. But some are also silly. Songs about monsters having the time of their lives, skeletons shaking their bones or just a song that makes you feel like you're really in the spirit of the holiday. Here are a few of my favourites. Enjoy my pretties.

Everyone loves the 1962 hit song "Monster Mash" by Bobby "Boris" Pickett & The Crypt Keepers. Also, that is such a great name. It's been covered so many times over the years that it would be impossible to keep count. Still, the original featured the lead singer making his best Boris Karloff impression, and it's excellent.

You don't have to be a massive fan of 1975's Rocky Horror Picture Show to love the song "Time Warp," but it helps. The song is an actual real jam no matter the age and bonus; the dance steps are in the lyrics. Kids and adults love the choreographed dance moves.

"Who you gonna call?" I know you're screaming "Ghostbusters," and that's all the recommendation you need for the theme song to the 1984 iconic movie. Also, the video is pretty great; definitely watch it again.

Alvin & The Chipmunks need a moment. Their 2000 film Alvin & The Chipmunks Meet The Wolfman remains a surprisingly entertaining movie. The song from that movie, "Things Out There," is a terrific Halloween song.

Obviously, I would pick Michael Jackson's seminal hit song from 1982, "Thriller." How could I not? Everyone loves it and will probably love it forever. It even comes with a 14-minute long mini-movie. RIP Michael.

Maybe Bow Wow Wow's 1982 hit song "I Want Candy" doesn't immediately call Halloween to mind, but it does remind us what we are looking for Halloween night. And it's amusing.

Bette Midler hypnotizes Salem's parents as Winnifred Sanderson by singing "I Put A Spell On You" in 1993's cult classic movie Hocus Pocus. So so good, and my favourite Halloween movie until the day I die. Ok, you got me much longer than that. I will still watch it every Halloween in the spirit world.

Fine, I'll admit I really love Alvin & The Chipmunks. So much so that I think their 2007 version of the song "Witch Doctor" should be a seasonal favourite.

Don't overthink about the lyrics of Sheb Wooley's 1958 song "Purple People Eater," and just listen to the beat. It's a fun one.

Want something a bit scarier? Appreciate Alice Cooper's "Feed My Frankenstein." It's like a soft, hard rock song, if that makes sense. Also, he sings about Frankenstein. So there is that!

Because only Rihanna could make, "bum, bum, bee-dum, bum-bum, bee-dum-bum" sound like an ancient spell to cast you into a night of darkness.

Because the paranoia of feeling like you're constantly being followed doesn't plague your psyche. The recurring memory of the googly-eyed money stack from the "Somebody's Watching Me" Geico commercials has to. Don't believe me, YouTube the commercial. Thank me later!

Because the haunting guitar melody and Thom Yorke's vocals are as sincere as they are unsettling.

It's not Halloween until you've watched The Nightmare Before Christmas one, two, or 10 times! This song instantly sets a spooky scene.

For a tune that is pure Halloween, this hip-hop track from Will Smith and Jazzy Jeff is just what you need. It tells the story of Freddy Krueger, referred to as "Fred" in the song.

Give this upbeat song written for the Hotel Transylvania 2 a listen on All Hallows' Eve. This monster-packed music video will get you in the Halloween mood.

Because you're likely to watch Men In Black sometime in October, you should also give its catchy song a listen. Of course, it's Will Smith—do you need any other reasons?!

Fun Fact: Shakira wrote the melody and lyrics for this dance-y, werewolf-inspired song in just 10 minutes.

Queen Bey references ghosts, haunted lungs, and wicked tongues in this eerie song, perfect for a listen during October.

A harpsichord and finger snaps make up the main melody for America's most mysterious and altogether kooky family.

Oh, and one more pro tip: If you're having a party, hide a portable speaker in the bathroom and play instrumental songs like the Halloween and Suspiria themes on a loop. Then sit back and wait for them to scream. Hope I put a spell on you with my ultimate Halloween Playlist!

playlist
10

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.