Beat logo

Makeup YouTuber Sasha Anne Crosses Over to Become Pop Music Sensation

Sasha Anne talks about her music, acting, talk show, and more!

By All’s Fair in Love & WritingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Born in NYC, Sasha Anne got her start in the industry at 13 when she started posting makeup tutorials on her YouTube channel. In 2017, she was a finalist in the Shorty Awards for her Cinderella makeup video and in 2018 she won the Audience Award for Best in Beauty for her Wonder Woman Gal Gadot makeup video as part of her Empowering Young Women campaign.

While continuing her successful YouTube channel, which now has over 4 million views, Sasha moved to LA and has parlayed into acting and music. Her first starring role was in the indie horror film "Reed's Point" produced by Suzanne DeLaurentiis, streaming on platforms like Amazon Prime and VuDu.

On the music front, Sasha is signed to Tazmania Records and released cover songs "Catch Me I'm Falling" and "This Is Your Night" which are both heating up the indie and dance charts.

Sasha expanded her YouTube channel recently and added talk show host to her extensive resume with the start of her new series "The Vibe with Sasha Anne", where she covers topics in beauty, fashion, and entertainment and interviews featured guests.

Sasha is also an anti-bullying advocate, having been bullied in middle school for her dyslexia, she wants to use her influence to empower others that have been bullied. When not working, Sasha enjoys experimenting with fashion, makeup, and everything Disney.

How did you get started in the entertainment industry?

I’ve always loved the idea of acting since I was 11. I loved it ever since I first watched the Disney Channel. When I was 22, and had finished college, the world was on a pause due to COVID. I decided I wanted to try and get into acting. My social media manager knew my movie producer, and told her I wanted to get into acting. She thought I would be perfect for this role she had in mind and I starred in my first indie horror movie! My brother is a director and producer in the industry as well so he does give me a lot of advice about acting.

What upcoming projects can you share with us?

Last month, I released my second single called “This is Your Night”. It’s number 3 in Asia which is crazy and I’m so thankful. I was just in the studio this past Monday with some songwriters and we were working on my original song that I will be releasing next I think. I will be in the studio next month recording it and will be shooting behind the scenes of the process. This song is nothing like I’ve ever recorded before. It’s very meaningful yet uplifting as well and I know lots of people will be able to relate to it. It’s about going through something. Anything and coming out stronger than ever. I’m also revamping my YouTube talk show, so I’m super excited about that. And lastly, I just had a major audition, and I’m looking forward to hearing back about that soon.

What’s the most memorable moment in your career to date?

There has been many many exciting moments but I think the most memorable would be when my music video for “Catch Me I’m Falling” got accepted to be played on MTV.

Who would be your dream person to work with?

For music, Miley Cyrus, Demi Lovato, Olivia Rodrigo, and probably a few others. For acting, I would say Anne Hathaway. I loved her in "The Devil Wears Prada" and "The Princess Diaries".

What advice would you give to someone starting out in the industry?

Find people that you trust and have your best interest at heart. That want to help you and guide you on your path to success. The industry is very competitive and cutthroat so you need to make sure you have the right people by your side. Also, never take no for an answer, keep trying no matter what.

Where can we find you on social media?

Instagram @simplysashaanne

YouTube: https://youtube.com/sashaanne

TikTok: @sashaanne

Twitter: @simplysashaanne

Facebook: https://facebook.com/simplysashaanne

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/3OQjqxRoZWBeYJxF8a6L6Q?si=I2lug6n8TrKtqOV2jXO6HQ&utm_source=copy-lin

For all other streaming platforms, search Sasha Anne and for more info, go to: SashaAnne.com.

interview
Like

About the Creator

All’s Fair in Love & Writing

Two writers in love! Sandy Lo is a romance author, blogger, and journalist best known for the Dream Catchers series and StarShine Magazine. Steven is a gamer and aspiring fantasy author.

Follow us on Instagram: @AllsFairinLoveNWriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.