Beat logo

Krowcain

The story behind the song.

By Jordan C. HunterPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Me Busking

I made this song on my phone wheen I moved back in with my parents. They let me move in after I got out of jail and my friend got evicted. I lost my computer during that process and lost a lot of my songs. This song is about remembering who you are and how to get back even in the face of apparent opposition. The first verse is about me and my life circumstances. Despite how it may look to everyone else I have to remember who I am and continue in that air in order to achieve my greatness. This song outlines what I want in my relationships when we are alone. I want protection for my loved ones, and I want to be immune from the hurt of relationships while maintaining the ones I value.

Krocaine is about being fearful of coming up, or bettering my self while the people I’m used to being poor with secretly resent me for my talent. Wether it’s in my head or not I feel that way. I busk outside of Kroger to make money and sometimes homeless people come and ask me ffor rn more than I even have in my bucket. Like how dare you. I’m out here in the cold making the money and you have the audacity to come and ask me for more than what I just made. Get all the way out bruh. It gets annoying. I’m currently homeless but want to overcome my situation and thrive. I applied to jobs and fell through on fulfilling my end of the interview. However, I make money everyday playing guitar in front of kroger. I do that every day to make some spending money. I named this song krocaine for the relationship between Kroger and the homeless. It is like they come to Kroger for their fix of money. And guess what. I’m no better. When we break it down I’m one of those crows hating people who are coming and bettering themselves. It causes a form of jealousy to arise in my heart. But the cure to that is to refocus and continue in persistence. I’ve applied to jobs and went in for interviews. I have not yet been hired but I think it’s a sign of my destiny to be a recording artist. I don’t really like people and want to just get out of obligations to others that I don’t have to be in. They all bring me down and cause me problems. If I could go five weeks without anyone I think I could survive it. There was a research study going on in my town that focused on opiate addiction. I tried for awhile to get on that but never finished my phone interviews because I wasn’t on opiates like the next guy. Ever since then I’ve been trying to monetize whatever I’m doing because it’s my ticket out of poverty. I hate being poor. There may be some spiritual benefits from knowing how to survive in the face of adversity but it’s not worthy of my whole life. I plan on being a successful recording artist and making my money that way. The community I’m Lexington has looked out for me though. I play at these local open mics and get good exposure from those. When I busk at Kroger or farmers markets I feel like people genuinely enjoy my music but sometimes I can feel them being sorry for me. Wether or not I get what I want out of life I will try my hardest to do what needs to be done. I’m currently homeless but still pursuing my dream. Don’t let anything stop you because you’ll regret it.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.