Beat logo

Funeral - Arcade Fire's First Noise

A Look Back at a Gamechanger

By Kendall Defoe Published about a month ago 4 min read
9
Funeral arrangements

Twenty years...

I am not sure why I listened to the album again, but there I was, on my way to work, looking through my saved music and I found 'Funeral,' the first full-length album by Montréal's own Arcade Fire.

Montréal's own? That might be a little problematic.

One thing that became clear and interesting when I looked over the facts behind the myth-making, I saw that none of the members actually came from my adopted ville. They simply ended up here and made it a place where they could create a sound that captivated so many of us for such a long time...

And are we still captivated?

*

I remembered 2004. I was a student in my second - or was it my third - year at university as a grad student. I had just returned from living overseas, working as an ESL instructor in Japan. My mind was focused on getting my degree, finishing my final papers and researching whatever material I needed for my seminars and lectures. I was not concentrating on local music, unless it was in the summer and I had the opportunity to go out and enjoy the free festivals in Montréal. The idea that a band that often rehearsed in park in a neighbourhood I would soon move to - Parc La Fontaine - was now about to shake up the airwaves seemed ridiculous.

And yet...

I worked part time in a copy centre, dealing with customers who wanted to fight over machines, have ten thousand folders done in triplicate over the weekend, or haggle me down on the price of different sheens of paper. Music was a way to get through the general nonsense around me. We could bring in our own music, but leaving the radio on was a safe option (no running back and forth when we suddenly remembered that a certain song had lyrics that our bosses might not approve of). And the classic rock station was the safest option: you knew what would be played over the space of a rotating hour. No one complained when they heard the Eagles, Foreigner or the best years of (insert your favourite 60s/70s/80s group here). No one expected any surprises, least of all staff.

And yet...

I do remember the first song I heard:

I woke up with the power out

Not really somethin' to shout about...

This was based on a very real incident in their and my adopted hometown (the great ice storm of 1998). I was not in Canada when this happened (Tokyo beckoned; I listened), so to hear this vivid description of what life was like for other adoptees was very telling. I also began to wonder what made this group so interested in staying in this town. There were stories of them rehearsing in the park I mentioned and people running into their live spots and playing along with them. Again, I never saw this happen, but I could imagine it.

I could feel it.

They got me.

So, they soon became the hottest group in the country, beyond anything we could have imagined. It always intrigued me that they put Montréal on the map musically when it was clear that not a single member of the group was born and raised in the city. Only one member spoke French; the others came from Ontario and the United States. And that soon made perfect sense to me. The city was the perfect magnet for those of us who wanted more than what we could find in our small suburban enclaves (the band seemed to understand this with their Grammy-winning recording, 'The Suburbs'). It belonged to those who would dare to try and live in a city that still had a pulse and an incredible cultural scene.

Oh, and one final note...

I met Win Butler.

Souvenir of the Festival!

Yes, I understand the allegations against the lead singer are ugly. Yes, I feel that the recent albums are not as good as that powerful debut and early follow-up records. And yes, I realize that I am gushing. But he was kind enough to autograph my Pop Montréal fan at the same park and to talk to me for a while long before any of this ugliness came out.

I just wonder why he chose 'WL' for his initials.

Yup, he signed it...this way...

And I ask you, how do you feel about the band, their music, the recent news, and the sound that captured our attention twenty years ago?

The Ego Has Landed?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

quotespop culturepopindiehistorybandsartalt rockalternativealbum reviews
9

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen29 days ago

    I have no idea at all about this, I know some of the songs, but no clue who sang them. I am just happy that you got some pleasure from some of the happenings, the bad parts are unfortunate. Life is a beach sometimes. Remember the great times...in the end it is all that matters.

  • Martha Agnes30 days ago

    And thanks for writing this beautiful piece, Kendall. My sister married into the Carter family, of Bristol Sessions fame. But Bill Carter her husband didn't sing a note. That's fine. "Will the Circle be Unbroken..." that's enough for me. And "Will you miss me? will you miss me? Will you miss me when I'm gone?" is likely theirs and their descendants sing it at BRRR in Bristol TN the great annual festival held here that so rocks...I am moving from my home of 18 years. Could possibly list in a couple of weeks, but SNAFU. I'm catching a minute before two friends are arriving to help for a couple of hours. This can be so much fun if I just forget to mind when the tree is uprooted roots and all. I can't completely do that, so I'm in a bit of hell, but....I am moving into my college community of life-long friends one hour away at Emory, VA. Lotsa poems running in my head, and countless stories. I will keep reading your stuff. It grounds me in laughter and creativity and youth and vigor and joy. Smiling now but gotta EAT MY WHEATIES! I can tell it's a new day because the sun is up. :) OMG I love this piece of yours about Japan and Montreal!!!!!!!!!! How far are your from Quatres-Vents which is of course on my bucket list????

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    As always, I have no idea who they are or anything about his ugly side. But I can see how much you love their initial work!

  • It is a tough pill to swallow when our heroes turn out to be human beings & every bit as fallible as the rest of us. Unfortunately, as with Bill Clinton & Monica Lewinsky, it's difficult to argue consent given the uneven power dynamics between star & fan. It may not seem fair given the way people often throw themselves at those with power & influence. But it is the reality, & the responsibility to maintain boundaries & do no harm always rests with those who hold the power in the situation. That having been said, marvelous & heartfelt story about a man whose reputation may be tarnished, but who has also done a lot of good.

  • Andy Pottsabout a month ago

    That's a trip down memory lane. Not listened to Arcade Fire in years. Might have to dig out the CD later. Thanks!

  • Kageno Hoshinoabout a month ago

    Nice music

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Marvelous music story!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    I love finding new music, thank you for that! I'm 3 minutes into Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) and I'm sold! Never heard them before and I look forward to hearing more. I'm glad I took the time to read your well written article! Cheers KD!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.