Beat logo

Women of Sound

Five Choices to Guide Your Ears...and Mine

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
17
Women of Sound
Photo by Marius Masalar on Unsplash

I have tried to keep up with what is on the charts, but I am not as devoted to the top-forty hits as I once was. As much as I like the noises of Billie, Dua, Taylor and Queen Bee, I still find myself going back to the other side of the equation, meaning the ones who should be bigger. You like Beyonce? I go for Janelle Monae. Taylor Swift? Give me St. Vincent. And Billie Eilish may be hard to categorize, but Bjork got there first. So, pop music will go on, but I want a little bit more.

I am sure that many of you want a little more, too. Some of you have told me that you love my music reviews, but I am not buying music or going to concerts the way I used to. Instead, I have been taking more time hunting down talent online. YouTube and many other pages have helped and I am sure that these names might be too familiar to a select coterie of readers. But for the rest of you, I really hope this opens up your ears and expands your audio palette.

Ms. Herndon

1. Holly Herndon – This one was kind of an accident. I went to a local record store – remember them? – and saw the cover of a magazine. Now, I was really thrown by her and the story I read. She was a modern musician; a very modern musician who seemed more interested in noise for its own sake. And I saw that this was a review of an album called “Platform”. I bought a copy, brought it home…and listened to it once. After one week, I listened to it again. And then I listened to it on repeat. It took me time to accept that clash of sound with lyrics that were incredibly abstract and sharp. Try this link and you may understand my dilemma…and eternal interest in her brilliant career.

Ms. Smith

2. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Another pleasant surprise, this time from hunting down a recording I could not find. After a very fruitless hunt for something to turn my ears, I picked up a copy of “Euclid”. This led me into another deep dive into everything I could find by this particular electronic composer. Danceable and very detailed noises abound on all of her records, and you should take some time to hear this particular talent.

Ms. Wang

3. Yuja Wang – Oh, Ms. Wang. As soon as I heard you, I wanted to hear more. And as soon as I saw you, I wanted to want more. She is one of the most impressive classical pianists of the last twenty years, drawing huge crowds with her incredible performances both solo and with orchestras around the world…and with her choice of fashion during those performances (high heels and miniskirts will draw a crowd). Please enjoy the show!

Ms. Calix

4. Mira Calix – I came to the story of Ms. Calix after she passed away (March 2022), but I think that I am not too late to the party. This South-African-British artist worked in multiple mediums, gave at least one TED talk that I can find, and recorded some incredible music as a creator and DJ (I’m a fan of “Bite Me” and “there is always a girl with a secret”). Much like Herndon and Aurelia Smith, Calix prefers to experiment and push what we can take as listeners. This is makes it all the more rewarding and remarkable that she was able to have five records out of sound experiments…and I am still learning all about what has been lost. You need this particular ride.

Ms. Werner

5. Heloise Werner – I end this with a vocalist. Ms. Werner is a soprano singer, composer and performer who bends and tears apart all the neat categorizations between styles (should I even use just one term to describe her work: Classical? Modern? Untamed?). And she is one of the few performers I have heard by chance that made me freeze in place as she shifted from octave to octave, sound to sound, tone to tone. Start with the link here (“Confessional”), try this Barbican Session, and hear it from the talent herself. An excellent shape shifter of sound…and close friend of Ms. Calix. Please listen…

Those are the five I have chosen. I know that there are many others you might want to add to the list; you may also wonder if I have lost my mind when you hear some of the more extreme work above. Please make your own list and use what I have created here as a jumping off point to something deeper and truly beautiful.

Listen…

By Simon Noh on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

synthtechnoplaylistlistelectronicaconcertclassicalart
17

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Your writing skills are truly impressive. I loved it.

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Good work, Kendall!

  • Michelle Liew3 months ago

    Will check these stars out, Kendall.Thorough!

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    I haven't heard of any of these ladies. Thanks for sharing. I will have to check them out.

  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    Completely new artists to me. I love the idea of adding their albums to my playlist. Thank you for the insight.

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    As female singers go, I'm more of an Adel fan. I prefer a performer who can belt out a song without having to rely on prancing across the stage half ( or at times more than half) naked. Unfortunately, I'm in the minority. I'm always up for a good instrumentalist.

  • Great review Kendall. I have an interest in Holly Herndon. I've seen her name before and I really like her look.

  • Fascinating selection. Admittedly, Ms. Wang is more in my wheelhouse, but that didn't keep me from being mightily impressed with the others. Ms. Calix's video had me thinking "Ringu" with her hair constantly whipping over her face which was masked & the glitchy nature of the video. Ms. Werner's talents are remarkable!

  • Great read… will have to listen to them when I have a chance… my kids keep me young in some of my music tastes & they love lots of my music which they grew up with… as often is the case. No music… no life… is rather how my family feel.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    Thanks for putting this together, all new names to me and I will definitely check their music out.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    These are all a mystery to me , but I like to find new choices for everything. Thanks

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Kendall, I must confess that I haven't listened to the radio or bought albums since the 90s. The closest I've come to music has been on American Idol, The Voice, and yes, sometimes you tube videos I've caught just scrolling. I think I have been jaded for the new by all the excellent(s) from the past (60s, 70s, 80s, and 90s.) I need to do better. I think music also lost me when it evolved into an orgy of nakedness and performance instead of just talent and raw emotion? OR maybe I'm just old. My grandkids like country and most of the time that sounds like nails on chalkboards to me, too. Anything out there I might like? I found Teddy Swims on you tube and he was my cup of tea. (God forbid he gets naked on screen though...lol)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.