Beat logo

Do You Remember the Cursed Remix of September?

A word of caution: you may not be able to listen to the classic Earth, Wind & Fire track the same way again.

By Ghezal AmiriPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The music video for "September"

There are certain videos floating around the internet that, for whatever reason, stick with you long after you've watched them. Whether it is a hysterical parody of a tranquil DJ, an eye-opening take on current societal issues or a kitty on a scanner, encountering these amazing finds satisfies that craving we all have inherently in us to be entertained.

When I stumbled upon the following Tik Tok whose first few seconds were the opening of the iconic Earth, Wind & Fire song "September", I was (unsurprisingly) hooked right away and I needed to know what was next.

Brooklyn-based The Gregory Brothers posted a spectacular twist on the beloved tune on their Tik Tok account songifythis where they pride themselves on "discovering accidental (and sometimes even intentional) songs throughout the universe."

I don't wish to spoil it so check it out for yourself and my thoughts will be included upon further scrolling.

(And do not fret, I promise it is not a Rick Roll.)

Did you ever envision a beloved early 2000s alternative-rock tune merging so effortlessly with an upbeat, disco classic from the 1970s? When the video began, I certainly didn't but by the end of it I was yearning to hear how the rest of the songs blend!

In the video itself, The Gregory Brothers did a fantastic job with their depiction of how this hypothetical party would react as the song progressed past the initial stun that the words "do you remembah?" did not immediately follow the booming trumpet-sax combos. I honestly thought when those four bars were about to conclude, we were going to be hit with the "some-BODY" from Smash Mouth's seminal hit "All Star" but I applaud the genius of their inclusion of blink-182's "I Miss You" just because of how different that track is compared to "September."

Throughout the video they feature a number of memorable characters including an angry, violent deity, the uncle who only gets up for two songs and the original song creators rolling in their graves/beds. That gradual acceptance of what they were listening to when they realize it's kind of a bop was my own personal experience. It is an interesting feeling hearing an experimental take on a piece of media you've been infatuated with for a majority of your life. Is it honestly even the month of September if you don't ring it in while listening to that song?

... Lest we forget the universal experience of everyone having that uncle whose sole purpose at family functions is to eat all the food and only moves when those two chosen songs start to play...

I am certain that "September" would be one of them with a surprise choreographed dance accompanying it.

Approval from Mark Hoppus himself

The long-time bass guitarist and vocalist of blink-182, Mark Hoppus, tweeted out the video to his over 2.7 million followers with the simple caption "Do you remembah."

Fans praised the hilarious efforts of the mashup with the talented creators responding to Hoppus' inquiry that they do, indeed, remembah:

If I am ever in the same room again with more than five people, I absolutely plan on playing this joyous mashup because I enjoy letting my loved ones down. When that initial disappointment wears off and they find themselves nodding happily along, the song will end abruptly thus completing my purpose at family events.

I would probably then assure them I will play "September" next and blare Rick Astley's "Never Gonna Give You Up" instead.

I will never be asked to another event again...

For more stupendous Tik Tok finds, check out Vocal+'s "For You" Challenge!

Follow me on Twitter!

social media
1

About the Creator

Ghezal Amiri

Afghan-Canadian writer who enjoys witty quips and BTS, proper grammar and Jodie Comer.

I tweet with @MrsBananaPhone because it's the best and beats the rest.

I also have designs: https://www.teepublic.com/user/designingsimple

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.