Beat logo

A PJ Harvey Playlist

Polly Jean Harvey Is Constantly Out There With Every Song She Creates

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
8

The first song I heard by Polly Jean Harvey was "Down By The Water" which opens this playlist I was hooked immediately (an appropriate analogy given how the song closes).

I found that she corresponded a lot with Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart) when she was making her records. I have always been a fan of Beefheart and may do a playlist at some point, but this just showed to me that she was a brilliant artist with great musical connections.

She began her career in 1988 when she joined the local band Automatic Dlamini as a vocalist, guitarist and saxophonist. The band's frontman, John Parish, became her long-term collaborator. In 1991, she formed an eponymous trio called PJ Harvey and subsequently began her career as PJ Harvey.

Among the accolades shehas received are both the 2001 and 2011 Mercury Prize for Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea (2000) and Let England Shake (2011), respectively, making her the only artist to have been awarded the prize twice

As I write this I am also listening to "The Hope Six Demolition Project" and I could possibly just include the songs from that album, but that would be so incredibly lazy. I also love the drawn heraldic design on the cover.

Her website contains a lot of information including her poetry and artwork.

So here are a few favourite songs. There are loads that I have missed out but I hope these make you want to find out more.

"Down By The Water" from "To Bring You My Love"

This is the first song that grabbed my attention by Polly Jean. It's brooding and threatening and just wound its way into my mind. It takes two minutes to hit the chorus and coda fade out. This is not a normal song construction but is one that you will not forget.

"The Devil" from "White Chalk"

This is just breathtaking. She taught herself piano to make the album. Absolutely stunning and almost gothic in feel and style. The metronome provides a definite rhythm in this as well. Amazing.

"The Last Living Rose" from "Let England Shake"

The second song from the Mercury Prize winning album and again shows her musicianship and that threat-laden electronic brass accompaniment.

"Sheela Na Gig" from Dry

I was aware of this before "Down By The Water". Listening to it in retrospect I wish I had taken more notice at the time, but I eventually discovered what an amazing artist that she is.

Sheela na gigs are figurative carvings of naked women displaying an exaggerated vulva. They are architectural grotesques found throughout most of Europe on cathedrals, castles, and other buildings. The greatest concentrations can be found in Ireland, Great Britain, France and Spain.

"The Words That Maketh Murder" from "Let England Shake"

The album track interspersed with Polly Jean playing the song on her autoharp and again so brooding but sounding like nothing else you have heard, and quoting Eddie Cochran. She does like including bits of famous mainstream songs in her compositions (check out "Sheela Na Gig").

"Satisfaction" from the 1994 BRIT Awards with Björk

Polly Jean is fine covering classic songs in her own style, and this cover of the Rolling Stones classic is slowed down and builds from a quiet start to a loudly mischievous climax from her and Björk.

"Community Of Hope" from "The Hope Six Demolition Project"

The opening song from the album that I am listening to at the moment. The "They're Gonna Put A Walmart Here" sung by the choir is something I find particularly disturbing, but an absolutely stunning album opener.

"The Ministry Of Defence" from "The Hope Six Demolition Project"

The monstrous opening chords to this demand you top everything and listen to this. This is the last song on this playlist.

Now go and check out more from the wonderful Polly Jean Harvey.

song reviewsplaylistlistindiecelebritiesalternativealbum reviews90s music80s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I don't know how I missed this! She has such a beautiful voice! I enjoyed her songs!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Oh Mike, I so appreciate you highlighting PJ Harvey! “Sheela-Na-Gig” is my favorite song of hers. I had no idea she collaborated with Björk, my favorite singer! I can’t wait to check that out when Vocal fixes links. They seem to be down at the moment.

  • Phil Flannery12 months ago

    That was very enlightening. She has a style all her own (that's a compliment). I'm sorry to say I'm not over PJ Harvey. I have heard of her but I know very little. We have a national radio station here called JJJ. I was listening to a podcast of one of their DJ's, who interviewed John Parish. I remember him having a lot to say about PJ Harvey. If you are interested, the podcast is Take5 with Zan Rowe. The episode was August 2021, it's on Spotify.

  • Excellent.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Been a fan since "Dry". Glad you are in the club and you wrote this for the ones who have not heard of her!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    I love PJ Harvey. It was great to learn more about her. Thank you! 💖

  • Angelina F. Thomas12 months ago

    Great job. Good morning.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.