Beat logo

5 Songs I've Had on Repeat Lately

And why

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

1. Kehlani- Melt

This song is so sweet and lovely. Kehlani's voice is like honey (stream "Honey" for better crops). You can just hear how in love she is. I like to pretend I am too when I listen because it's the type of song you close your eyes and picture the perfect love story to. My favorite part is,

"Wish I could build me a cute apartment; one bedroom right where your heart is."

The imagery in that line is the best in the song, especially because that's how it feels when you're really into someone. You want to just live inside and through them. You want to be around them and just mean as much to them as they do to you too. The song talks about being away from the person and wanting to be right by them-waking up and being apart isn't so fun. It's nice to think that Kehlani is feeling this way about someone and can express that in a song. Kehlani also talks about how they look like their partner, and can't decide who is who. The song reminds me of "Brown Skin" by India Arie (a song I loooooove so much) with certain lines because both are like "oh, our bodies are one and I can't tell where yours is or where mine is."

And it's nice to imagine you're going through that with your own loved one too.

(and the video is so adorable and pretty!)(love the colors, how it's full of moments with their partner and just them having a good time)(the opening was also a cute twist)

2. Loyle Carner-Hate

This is the first song I've heard from Loyle Carner and I was even almost a full month late to watching the video since it dropped on the 4th of July.

That beat is pretty sick. It's fast paced and his line delivery is up to speed in some parts, and then he goes slower, and the beat/piano gets quieter. Everything works really well together. The lyrics are the best part. They're thoughtful and real. It makes you feel bad for him, for everyone...and yourself because he says

"We're trapped."

But, at the time when I listen to it I feel the urge to prove him wrong. That even though we have the same fears and hates and loves, I want to make people less trapped in a way. I dunno. Cool beat, but there's pain in the lyrics.

(The video really pairs well with the song. Him battling himself in a tight place where he can't get out. Very nice touches)

3. Khamari-Doctor, my eyes

When I heard a snippet of this song...I knew it was going to speak to my insides. I knew it was going to have me crying and I'd relate heavily to it. Khamari's vocals are smooth and pure. The song resonates with so many people who feel like they aren't who they should be or where they should be as a twenty something. It's a soft song that Khamari's voice and lyrics don't hide in. You have to pay attention to the words. You have to feel them.

The ending of the song includes an older man's voice, presumably his father's, saying he puts a lot of weight on himself and how things do work out. I typically don't like songs ending with voice messages or little chats unless they really help with the song...and this one does. It shares a piece of Khamari and shows that this is how he felt, which makes the song all the more personal and memorable. He seems like he's writing/singing from personal experience rather than a character. Let me move on before I say too much here.

(The music video is perfect for the song. Chill, heartfelt, and personal while sharing the progression of the lyrics/his thoughts)

4. Sampha-Indecision

When am I not playing this song? C'mon. It makes me feel hopeful and like I can let go of my worries at least for the duration of the song ha. "Let it all work out," he sings (beautifully) and the singers repeats his words (my favorite part). I picture myself at a piano playing along all the time. I really want to learn it. The piano sounds like it's declining and rising again as he sings on it alone. I love how he repeats lines. The ending with him just making these noises and filling the space with his voice was a great way to end the song. Just singing, no lyrics...just (vibes ha) a peaceful ending.

5. The Marías - bop it up!

I heard this song on the new Rebelde and had to hear is by itself...a million times. It's a nice upbeat, but not too loud or "upbeat" sounding song. She almost whispers over the electronic sound and drums.

I will say this, after seeing the lyrics...I was not only a bit wrong, but I preferred my version ha!

It's a song that I use to just sit and type or dance (if that's what I should call it) around my room to. Versatile haha.

I like how she says her lyrics and a softer, yet deeper voice repeats. She sounds like she's swaying as she sings; her voice sounds weightless.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.