Art logo

Yarn Bombing

Some Examples Of The Knitwear In Thirsk Marketplace

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
6
Yarn Bomb Hedgehogs In Thirsk Marketplace

Introduction

Each time I visit Thirsh the Marketplace is decorated by lots of knotted and crotcheted pieces for whatever is happening around the time. At the moment it is for Remembrance Sunday, but last year it was close to Christmas.

Fiona told me what the correct term for it was and I have shared a lot on Instagram like here.

This is the Wikipedia take on the subject.

My Yarn Bombing Pictures In Thirsk

This is just a selection of the pictures I have taken in Thirsk over the last few years that are examples of Yarn Bombing. It has been compared to Street Graffiti and seems to be the domain of white middle-class women with no cosmopolitan input, although Thirsk seems to be almost all white with some Chinese and Indian Restaurants, but they don't seem to have a presence in the Thirsk Marketplace Yarn Bombing creations.

These are a few from a couple of years back.

A cute birdhouse.

Some cute rabbits.

Flowers and things

A little dinosaur.

Then we have some that are sea-based.

A Thirsk Marketplace Knitted Octopus.

Another Octopus

A smiley fish and a starfish. I think there is a problem with this piece because I am just sharing pictures, and there is not much I can say about them because they really do speak for themselves.

I am just sharing the hard work that so many people have put into making this place and nicer and more interesting place to be.

Two tiny whales or dolphins with starfish.

We're now going to move on to last Christmas, though this is probably going to be the most pictures I have shared in a single Vocal story. I hadn't thought about which community it should go in, but I suppose it should be Art. I am just thinking through my keyboard now.

On top of the postbox with Christmas lights.

An the same one in daylight

And one with a Christmas Tree, presents, Santa and the elves.

A Christmas pudding with a smile.

And this is just a Christmas pudding with no face and no smile.

Now I am going to bring us up to date. There are two events that resulted in Yarn Bombs in Thirsk. Gay Fawkes Night and Remembrance Day. We will start with Guy Fawkes.

Guy Fawkes on top of his bonfire on top of a postbox.

This is the poem about the Gunpowder Plot, I do feel we need this to happen once again.

Another one for the Gunpowder Plot gang.

Fireworks around Big Ben on Bonfire Night.

An almost Mandala Spiral but not sure what it has to do with Bonfire Night unless it is meant to be a Catherine Wheel.

And even more fireworks to close this particular display.

Now we can concentrate on the Remembrance Yarn Bombs in Thirsk Marketplace.

I do like the purple poppies, the red ones make with think of the blood spilled by the politicians and financiers when soldiers are sent to fight. Both great wars were terrible and we can still find money for war but not to build and care for people.

The Market Square Clock by night above and by day below.

On the wall by the War Graves at St Oswald's Church in Sowerby.

At the gate of St Oswalds in Sowerby.

A warhorse with purple poppies outside The Golden Fleece in Thirsk.

Back to the Market Square for this Yarn Bomb soldier.

Two girls from the Woman's Land Army with cups of tea.

An Air Raid Fire Warden to keep us all safe.

More Land Workers to close this very pictorial Vocal Story.

These are just a small part of the pictures that I have taken.

I hope you enjoy them but I have seen them for real.

TechniquesInspirationHistoryGeneralExhibitionContemporary Art
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Whoaaaa I never knew about yarn bombing. Only ever heard of photo bombing and love bombing, lol. Those yarn works are so stunning!

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    I’ve never heard of Yarn Bombing, but that’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen and I can’t imagine the craftsmanship that goes into it. I love your photos. 🤍

  • That's some incredible work. What a great idea for a community.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    cool

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.