Art logo

New Teeth For The Old Cog, ANd Traces

A Collaborative Exhibition by Mick Smith and Michelle Goulder

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
8

Introduction

I got an invitation from either Mick or Michelle for this exhibition at The Biscuit Box (I thought it was The Biscuit Factory but it is two buildings down, I should really check things more carefully), this was the Facebook post with information that I should have taken on board before going.

I got there eventually and Mick and Michelle were very welcoming telling me all about what they were doing and why they were doing it. I noticed the chocolate and sweets and stuff but did not partake. That is unusual for me.

So What Is "New Teeth For The Old Cog, And Traces" About?

What Are These?

This display says a lot about what Mick is conveying. I don't know if everyone is the same, but I know some of my friends fall into this category, and I definitely do, but it's about the devices and cogs and things that we found in our dad's and granddad's toolsheds, as well as other maybe derelict work areas.

Some of the workmanship to create these tools is amazing, but what are they used for and what do they do? Mick also put forward the question "How did they make them in the first place, were there other tools or machines that made these devices?" That thought makes them even more interesting.

Devices and T

There are devices on the window sill and Michelle's material traces are impressions of the device parts and are fascinating in conjunction with some of the items that may have been the source of the Traces.

Above is some of Michelle's work in frames, they do may you think. How were they made? Where did they come from? What sort of machine or device was that?

This is a very thought-provoking exhibition from two great and interesting artists, who I have finally managed to meet in person.

Them Cogs

These are just so fascinating for me, you can imagine them as part or a steam-driven vehicle or engine from maybe even Victorian times and we know that cogs are very prevalent in steampunk.

Conclusion

This is a wonderful and interesting art. Please visit the exhibition if you are in Newcastle and Michelle and Mick's Facebook pages if you are farther afield.

Who knows, I may even use one of these for a Vocal story prompt.

Art is meant to have an effect and Mick and Michelle's work certainly does that.

I included "Clockwork" by Philipp Klein which is sort of appropriate to listen to while you read this.

Mixed MediaHistoryGeneralExhibitionContemporary Art
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mick Smith6 months ago

    It was really nice to meet Mike the other day at our exhibition, we had one of those lovely conversations that could have gone on forever - he really got what we were up to.

  • Fascinating stuff &, yes, the very same questions I often find myself asking.

  • Yes I always wonder how did people back then make all these. It's so fascinating!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.