Art logo

Dear Favorite Tree,

Epistolary Stream of Consciousness | Inspired by the fine art print "Against Forgetting"

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 11 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
58
Against Forgetting | Wax Crayon Rubbing aligned with the artist's fingerprint.

Inspired by this fine art print, and my favorite tree that rests on the riverbank of of an incredibly special spot in the Uncompahgre National Forest, Colorado.

*For a more immersive experience, this poem comes with the song it was written to– Steady, by musical artist Roary. A beautiful work of art in its own right.

It is recommended that you begin reading a moment after you hit play, and linger with the song when the poem concludes.

Dear Favorite Tree,

Both of us are written into the memoir of Time–

although I’m just a flicker in the span of your life,

your existence and mine are intertwined.

^^^

I linger at your roots,

absorbing the lessons that you teach–

through a world beyond my vision,

written in spheres of ancient wisdom you hold deep.

^^^

Your life resonated through the universe

before your limbs took shape–

I long to know what ancestry held you

before landing on this riverbank.

^^^

I yearn to see the things you’ve witnessed

throughout the years you’ve grown,

revealed through your epic history

rings of time I’ve never known.

^^^

Can you share insights of ancient energy

buried in the soils from which you birthed–

echoing lessons of time through your fibers,

wisdom of history you’ve unearthed?

^^^

You are one of many, yet

uniqueness is carved into your core,

evidence swirled into your story

of the impacts you’ve endured.

^^^

Tell me of the moment

your being sparked to life–

rooted in the depths of darkness,

how did you break free and

press on toward the light?

Please teach me about emergence.

^^^

Will you show me all the scars

from the fires you’ve endured–

tell me how to face the heat without

crumbling from the burn?

Please teach me about courage.

^^^

Will you show me how to grow roots

strong enough that I no longer fear the wind–

how to rise in the midst of hardship,

using perseverance to ascend?

Please teach me about fortitude.

^^^

Will you draw up the magic imprinted in your annals,

harness the wind rustling through your branches

to whisper the lessons sketched in your memories–

the teachings of the past drawn in your circles of remembering?

^^^

I wait to breathe in the wisdom of your experience

under the embracing of your bole,

to etch it in my spirit,

to root it in my soul.

^^^

I thank you in advance,

my dear favorite Tree–

now I'll close my eyes and listen

so I can truly see.

Forever Seeking,

Me

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Author's Note:

Against Forgetting is one of my favorite fine art prints done by sisters Sonya and Nina Montenegro, the designers and makers of The Far Woods (www.thefarwoods.com). This piece is a wax crayon rubbing of a tree stump (according to the artist, most likely a Douglas Fir) on Orcas Island that perfectly aligned with an ink fingerprint of the artist. This piece has impacted me on a soul level as it translates how intimately we are connected to nature– that we are nature. I'm in love with trees and have a deep adoration and appreciation for reciprocity of life that we share.

* Please earmark www.thefarwoods.com for amazing artwork prints and books with a beautiful mission behind them. The following quote was taken from their website.

We seek to contribute to a great Culture Shift in which there is a land ethic, a reverence for nature, a rejection of the dominant throw-away mentality, and direct connection to where our food and the things we use come from. Many of our artworks serve as educational tools and inspiration for deepening relationship to nature, food, and community. Our practice crosses disciplines, including teaching handcraft skills, beekeeping, and growing food, to work toward an ecologically-viable and socially-just future.

***********************************

If you’d like to read about the inspiration behind this piece, check out this interview hosted by the wonderful Heather Hubler:

JourneyTechniquesInspirationlove poemsnature poetryinspirational
58

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Jay3 months ago

    Beautiful and impactful piece. Thank you for sharing.

  • Talia Devora5 months ago

    What a great poetic and truthful piece you wrote. Plants, indeed, can teach us more than we assume. Plants have a huge impact on our life. Keep up the good work!

  • Sekenkoum Real Estate is your trusted partner for premier real estate solutions in Dubai. Experience excellence in property services with our expert team Visit our website for more information https://sekenkoum.com/

  • Wow I really appreciate you well done u can definitely get famous

  • Test6 months ago

    Marvelous work, Kristen! Congrats!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    I love poems that really dive into the core of the tree, and how symbolic it is with life. 

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Is it a coincidence that I saw this picture somewhere else this week and then I find myself here reading your exquisite poem? I don't think so.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    So, so, sooooo beautiful. Thank you. This quieted my soul.

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Hurray!!! Nice to see this one come back! Congrats!!!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    I remember this one and the awesome music!! Congrats on your top story Kristen!😁

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Mrs. Baly~Eat. Talk about "Against Forgetting" - Better late than never - Terrific and so 'Artsy' of you. 'J' in L.A.

  • C. H. Richard6 months ago

    That was really lovely. It made me think of several favorite trees and gave me a meditative moment at the end of the day ♥️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Hold on. Did this just mow get a TS? I'm amazed it wasn't already. Oh well. Long overdue but well deserved. Congrats, my friend.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    So thrilled this got Top Story!! Congrats :)

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Woop woop, congrats on a well deserved Top Story! Pal oh pal of mine!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Art work and the words pair so beautifully together

  • Love the art work, the song, and the deep Insightful poem

  • kory salajka6 months ago

    what a wonderful journey - lovely with the music. thank you.

  • Test6 months ago

    Just so stunning and absolutely love the image 🤍

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Beautiful!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Came back for another look. Still in awe.

  • MecAsaf9 months ago

    Excellent work This is just beautiful

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I like this line, I yearn to see the things what you’ve witness , Brilliant poem .

  • Beautifully meditative. I could just float with this one, Kristen.

  • Test11 months ago

    This is so beautifully written, Kristen. I loved "please teach me about courage." Like you, Pernoste and I have always felt trees to be the wise sentinels of the planet, kind and gentle and with a perspective in centuries and longer, rather than years like us. Here is a poem we would like to share with you. Winter in the trees. I walk a winter forest, dusted with snow, & quiet in morning. The sleeping trees reach to cold heavens, as if dreaming in prayer, & I wander, & I wonder, among these gentle sleeping giants. Whatever dreams, & whatever they pray, their gentle souls are safe beneath, in a nighttime of roots. 💙Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.